Blonde Moment

I just pulled a major blonde move. Wow.

But prior to the blonde moment happening, I had some delicious eats today. It was mostly a ‘snack yourself throughout the day’ type of day today, which most days are for me, post long run.

Here are a few things that I did capture though…

Pumpkin Honey Wheat Psncakes with mixed in berries. And, syrup of course.

006

008

Many, many thoughtless handfuls of this combo. Veggie Cheddar Goldfish and Baked Cheetos.

011

And then, my blonde moment came when it was time for dinner. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize until after dinner what had happened.

I was snapping photos of my dinner without the memory stick in the camera. And we have no cord for our camera. Ummm, duh Jenna! What makes it even better is me asking Mike how there were pictures of dinner on the camera. Yep, I forgot that cameras have a limited memory to hold pictures on the camera itself. Wowza.

I can describe my dinner though. πŸ˜‰

First up, a pumpkin beer on our rooftop deck. It was a lovely evening in Minneapolis.

025

For our meal we made TJ’s Orange Chicken with rice. Also, cooked up some green bell peppers, snap peas and onion to mix into the dish to add some veggies.

Our thought on the TJ’s Orange Chicken? Pretty nasty. We didn’t look at the package when buying it to see that is said ‘dark meat’. We both aren’t fans of dark meat. While it was edible, there were some pieces that looked very questionable to us. And for Mike to say he wasn’t a fan of anything Chinese, that is saying,Β A LOT.

It was also my first experience not liking something from TJ’s. 😦

On the side, some TJ’s potstickers with peanut sauce. You can’t go wrong there. Regardless of the not so great chicken, I am definitely full and content.

And for dessert, the best part of any day, right?

We bought a school bus yesterday. But not just any school bus, one from Appletown School District.

012

I know, I’m so clever. πŸ˜‰

The bus turned into a lovely crisp, using this recipe for Maple-Walnut Apple Crisp.

I made a few adaptations based on what I had on hand. I used agave instead of maple syrup, nixed the walnuts and made the crumble topping x1.5.

018

I can’t wait to have a large portion of this crisp tonight, with whipped cream and HΓ€agen-Dazs vanilla ice cream melted on top.

What are you having for dessert tonight?

10 responses to “Blonde Moment

  1. A Kennebunkport Pumpkin beer on a roof top deck? That’s hard to beat. Oh wait I think you did top it with your dessert…yummmm…I had a small portion of oatmeal cookie fro yo myself πŸ™‚

  2. vitamufin with dark chocolate dreams πŸ™‚

    those pancakes are to.die.for… how much one make them? if you don’t mind me asking πŸ˜‰

    • foodieinthecity

      Of course I don’t mind!

      It is ridiculously easy. I took from all packaged/canned ingredients ;)I made a 1/2 cup portion of my favorite pancake mix, Krusteaz. If you haven’t had it, you should try to dig some up at a local store. So good!

      I added probably about 1/3 cup of canned pumpkin, 1/2 cup of frozen mixed berries (they warm up when the pancakes are cooking), a few dashes of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. Then mix all of the above together and cook.

      Of course, top with any fun toppings. Syrup, whipped cream cheese, peanut butter, etc.

      So simple, but so satisfying. πŸ™‚

  3. Yummmy dessert looks great! Love the school bus apple box πŸ™‚ Sorry about the bad TJ’s experience…. but I agree that their potstickers are superb, enjoy the rest of your Sunday girl!

  4. i had some tj’s chocolate covered espresso beans! & we all ahve blonde moments sometimes.. no worries!!

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  5. i had dessert for lunch today (pumpkin bread) so i think i’ll just stick to some pineapple.

  6. Don’t worry, I’ve totally done that myself! That apple crisp looks great, though!

  7. Love the bus full of apples! πŸ˜€ That apple crisp looks delish πŸ™‚

  8. Haha I do things like that all the time! No worries πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

