Pie, oh my!

Shephard’s Pie that is. :mrgreen:

Evening y’all.  Today was quite the packed day in the end.

The Gopher game was a lot of fun, what a beautiful stadium.  And the suite was sweeeet, thank you, corporate America.  You are great for some things.  Unfortunately the Gophers lost, however, we did snag some good food for FREE.  Brauts and sauerkraut, berries, cheese and crackers and some Chicago mix popcorn, my favorite.

After the game, it was grocery store time.  Of course, we got a lot of food, way more than we probably need.  We need to go on a grocery budget over at this house.  No joke.  Oh, and I also got some goodies for one of my favorite bloggers too. 😉

We walked in the door with our groceries and I immediately felt a wave of stress looking at our mess of an apartment.  So after putting away our groceries, we did a serious deep clean to our pad.  Wow, I feel a million times better.  Amazing what a clean environment can do for you, huh?

I also worked on my self hosted page.  I think I am making progress people.  I ran into a bit of an issue with transferring my current blog over, it is a bit to big, whoops.  So I’m working with some people over at BlueHost to try and help me solve the issue.

Packed day huh?  I really needed a comforting meal this evening after all that activity.

While searching online today for recipe inspirations for this next week, I came across ‘Shepards Pie’.  While I have never had this dish myself, my friend Kim at work had brought in leftovers a few months back.  With one look at her leftovers and asking her what was in it, I knew Mike and I would love it.

Until today, I had forgotten about Shepard’s Pie.  I made my own variation, but based my recipe off of this.

Jenna’s Shepard’s Pie:

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs. baking potatoes, skin on
  • 1 cup mushrooms
  • 2 carrots, peeled (slice into small slivers)
  • 2 celery stalks, (slice into small slivers)
  • 1 small purple onion (chopped)
  • 4 cloves garlic (minced)
  • 1 jalapeno (minced)
  • 1 cup corn
  • 3/4 cup beef broth
  • 3 squirts of ketchup/tomato paste
  • Heaping half cup of your choice of cheese (we used Mexican)
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 lb. lean hamburger
  • 3/4 cup sour cream or plain yogurt

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Chop the potatoes into cubes and boil for 20 minutes until soft.

While the potatoes are boiling, saute carrots for 5 minutes on medium high heat.  Add in additional veggies, cook on medium heat 8-10 minutes.

While the veggies are cooking, brown hamburger.  Once cooked through, add in flour and stir in.  Add in ketchup, beef broth and veggies, cook 5 minutes.

While the above mixture is cooking, stir in sour cream or yogurt and mash potatoes with a fork.  Add in cheese.

Place the hamburger/veggie mixture into a 8×8 pan.  Top with the mashed potato mixture.  Bake for 16 minutes.  Enjoy!

So totally not the prettiest, but out of the oven:

022

025

With bbq and ranch for dipping.  And the butt of a sourdough loaf, of course.

026

And I am now full and have a semi-stomach ache.  Totally worth it.I am off to cozy up on the couch and watch Management with Jennifer Aniston.  I love her.  Anybody seen it?

I am contemplating baking apple crisp tonight, but I think I am just a tad bit too lazy this evening, so it will have to wait until tomorrow night.  There is always ice cream or cookies that could and will definitely be had tonight.

Later, gators.  Enjoy your evening!

3 responses to “Pie, oh my!

  1. YUMMM I love me some shephard’s pie! Haven’t had that in a while actually, our local grocery store makes one of the best I have had and now you got me craving it haha. Love the shout out too girlie 🙂 Hope you have a great movie night with your man!

  2. I am all for meat and veggies covered in mashed potatoes!!

    enjoy your night 🙂

  3. Yum! Looks great. I watched that movie a couple of weeks ago, it was kind of weird but overall I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

