Indian Pizza

I kind of had Indian pizza for dinner tonight.  Okay, well not really.  More like American pizza made on an Indian bread.  But half way there in my mind.

We didn’t have any pizza dough, tortilla’s, or frozen pizza on hand tonight, but all we both wanted was some pizza.

In an effort to make a health(ier) version of pizza, and more importantly save some dough before the holiday season, I pulled out some TJ’s naan from the freezer. 🙂

On top of the basics, the naan and the pizza sauce, I started to pile on the veggies.

  • Basil
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion
  • Broccoli
  • Mushrooms
  • Jalapeño

001

Then, I topped my pizza with not one, not two, not three, but four different cheeses!  I know, I’m going wild, lol.

Can you guess the kinds?

002

003

We’ve got: mexican, Monterey jack, parmesan, and cream cheese.  Yes, you heard that right.  Cream cheese.

I got the idea to place blobs of cream cheese on my pizza from Mike’s old roommate.  He had pizza at a restaurant where they had gobs of cream cheese on top of the pizza.  Sounds very questionable, I know.  I felt the same way.  However, the first time I tried it a few months back, I fell in love. Give it a whirl, let me know what you think.

Pippin’ hot out of the oven.

005

006

I had some ranch on the side for dipping purposes.  As well as many, many pita chips + hummus while making dinner.

I’m off to hang out with Mike before he jams tonight.  We’ve barely seen each other all week. 😦

Oh, and for dessert, I am thinking a yogurt mess!

What is a pizza topping that you like, or have tried, that may be a little questionable to some?

12 responses to “Indian Pizza

  1. I LOVE naan! I just discovered it. I’m so behind the times. The pizza looks great!

  2. Indian, Italian — it looks amazing regardless of it’s ethnicity 🙂

  3. I think cream cheese on pizza sounds brilliant!!

    The weirdest pizza topping that I’ve seen, but never actually had, was IowaGirl and her sauerkraut on pizza??? I love kraut (hello, Polish) and am so curious about this one…..

  4. yummy – i had indian pizza at a place in san fran once. blew my mind!

  5. That looks awesome! Cream cheese is a unique touch for sure. I’d love to try that(or ricotta). Have fun hanging with the man. I’ve barely seen Josh this week too and I’m leaving for the weekend 😦

  6. I love some cheesy pizza

  7. I love pizzas like this – when the cheese and the veggies just keep on piling up. Delish. 🙂

  8. indian pizza! yummm.
    jenna

  9. I love naan pizza!

    Also, you should totally try cream cheese in enchiladas, if you haven’t already. Amazing.

  10. Yum! I love using naan as a pizza crust. It hold up so well! I like pretty any sauce/pesto/cheese/veggie on my pizza. I’ve never been a meaty pizza person though.

  11. What a delicious looking pizza! Cream Cheese? That’s awesome. 🙂

  12. never would have thought to use naan for dough but thats a genius idea! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

