I <3 scones

HAPPY FRIDAY!!! We’ve finally reached the end of the week my friends. Anybody have any fun plans this weekend?

I am going to happy hour after work with some work friends. Then tomorrow, Mike and I got football tickets in my company’s box for the Gopher football game tomorrow morning. After that, it is going to be 100% relaxation. Whoohoo! 🙂

Since I will be unable to workout tomorrow morning (at least without having to wake up at an ungodly hour, which I won’t be doing) and having the strict ‘I NEED to relax’ guideline for the rest of the day, I sucked it up and went to the gym this morning.

I usually take it easy on Fridays and either don’t workout at all or do some form of yoga. Today however, I ran 7 miles in 70 minutes. A nice, slow and steady pace. Now I totally deserve my scone. :mrgreen:

Last week when we went to get our scones they only had three left.  Thank goodness we had gotten there just in time. I mean, what would I have done if they were out? Lol. And lucky enough, there were three of us wanting scones.

My friend Brian and I fought over who would get the cinnamon chip that was left, both our favorite flavor.  The other two flavors were blueberry (kind of lame) and toffee (sounded too intense for an a.m. ‘meal’).  I of course got the cinnamon chip. 😉  Thanks Brian!

004

005

Totally lame of me for getting the same kind over and over.  Semi-boring for you too.  So, I’ve told myself that if they have a new flavor that I haven’t tried this morning, I will get it.  No ifs, ands or buts.

On the lunch front…

So I’ve decided that if I bring my breakfast and lunch Monday-Thursday, I will treat myself to a healthy lunch out on Friday’s.  So while I didn’t necessarily fulfill those requirements this week, I am going to pretend that they start next week.  Ok?  Ok. 🙂

I have been having a serious Jimmy John’s craving this week.  There is one in our building and every single morning when I walk in I smell the scent of fresh-baked bread.  It kills me.  Literally everyday.  So I’ll crush my craving today!

It is up in the air as to what I will be getting.  Many of their sandwiches nutritionals are pretty frightening.  So it will more than likely be between the Turkey Tom and the Vegetarian.

While I won’t be getting the below sandwich, which I believe is the Vito, it sure looks rather tasty.

jimmy johsn

So while I was looking at nutritionals for the different sandwiches, the question of the day popped into my head.  **FYI, I do NOT count calories.  It just is interesting to me to see where different sandwiches at a major chain rank in terms of the value they provide to our bodies.

What is your thought on the new regulations that enforce the calories to be listed next to the corresponding menu item? There are many, many articles relating to this topic.  But if you are unfamiliar with it, here is one article published in the NYT’s.

I could really see it either way.

On one end, it will bring a ‘sticker shock’ realization to many restaurant goers as to what they really are putting into their bodies.  I believe a large portion of our country’s population really have no clue what proper nutrition is.  What it would look like.  And just how many calories they can consume in one restaurant meal.  Hello, like a whole days worth!

On the other side though, I believe it sends a negative message out to young girls and boys, even adults, that calories are the end all be all.  Which could encourage people to get so caught up in calorie counting and then spiral to behaviors unintended, for instance, eating disorders.  We are already bombarded with unrealistic body types, workout regiments, and menus everywhere we look.  Celebrities, Entertainment Tonight, gossip magazines, fitness magazines, all sources of, at times, negative energy.

While you may not agree with my two cents, that is just fine. It just one persons opinion.  Please, feel free to share your own.

Happy Friday, y’all!

14 responses to “I <3 scones

  1. Great job on the 7 miles!! Very motivating. You totally deserved that cinnamon chip scone:)

  2. Happy friday girl! Yummy scones, you def deserve that after the long a.m. run phew 🙂

    I have mixed feelings on the calorie thing too, on one hand I think that seriously over 3/4 of America has NO CLUE about nutrition (it’s frightening really) and it would be a good learning experience & reality check — but also coming from someone who has suffered through eating problems and severe calorie restrictions at times in my life I wonder the effects on individuals similar to me? Double edged sword we have here I think….

  3. Yay for 7 miles!
    I have mixed feelings about posting calories. I spend a lot of time in Manhattan, and I know it is a deterrent for me to see something has a crap ton of calories. However, sometimes you just want to enjoy something and not worry at all about it. Like cupcakes. I know they are loaded with calories, but they are amazing and delicious, and when I want one, I just want it, regardless of the nutritional information.
    I also don’t think it is going to do much about obesity. I think people will continue to eat however they do, until they are willing to make a change. it’s very easy to skim over calorie counts and pretend they just aren’t there if you are determined to eat something, no matter how bad it is for you!

  4. Jimmy Johns veggie is my FAV. I always ask them to gut the bread to get rid of some of the extra & make more room for the toppings!

    I personally am a HUGE proponent of listing calorie counts. I think it is more beneficial that putting little hearts next to “healthy” menu items. Did you know that almost every item to make the “WORST” lists from Eat This, Not That have been removed from the chains menus? Shows that companies really do care about what people think of the healthfulness of their offerings!

  5. I’m totally diggin the Pumpkin scones at Starbucks!

  6. I have mixed feelings about the calorie posting on menus. On the one hand, it might encourage restaurants to make their dishes lower in calories, since they have to be more transparent about what they are giving you now. A lot of people don’t realize that a salad isn’t always the “healthy” option if there is a bunch of cheese, meat, and dressing on it!

    On the other hand, “low calorie” doesn’t always = “healthy.” There are so many other things that go into the equation! By only listing the calories, it will encourage the thinking that it is all about calories, which it definitely isn’t.

    Really, I’d rather have the regulations be that restaurants have to list ingredients so you know if you are eating “real” food or chemical-laden junk… that would be difficult to enforce, though, wouldn’t it?

  7. i kind of agree with you! i think restaurants should maybe post ingredients or be banned from cooking with transfatty chemical shit lol but calories often freak me out (i had ed for a while). i went to applebees the other day and started panicking because i didn’t w ant to order off the ‘weight watchers’ menu and felt guilty about it since those meals were like <500 cal so obviously the reg ones were more!

  8. tonight i’m throwing a little party with my boyfriend 🙂 and i like that htey post their nutritionals but sometimes I think it can make people like me crazy! haha
    cinnamon chip looks good 🙂

    xoxo
    shelley
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  9. I say label it up. People should be able to check if they want and I think that knowledge is power. I am heading to Rhode Island for the weekend to visit family. Have a great time at Happy Hour (totally one of my favorite things to do). Enjoy!!!

  10. as someone who has suffered with disordered eating – personally I don’t appreciate knowing the calorie content of what i’m order.. on the other hand though there are individuals who are completely ignorant to nutrition and think it could be beneficial to them.. blah, i’m torn! if only I could get my own personal menu in restaurants 😉

  11. Ahhh I LOVE this issue (<- nerd alert)… it comes up all the time in my Health and Wellness class.

    From someone who was clinically treated for an eating disorder in my middle school/high school years, and also from someone who has fully recovered, I think that calorie counts SHOULD be published (or at least available) to all consumers. While there are a small percentage of people who are suffering from eating disorders or disordered eating, the vast majority of our nation is NOT.

    The prevalence of overweight and obesity is a huge growing problem in our country – in 2008, only one state had a population with less than 20% being considered obese (a BMI of 30 or higher).

    BMI classifications (underweight, normal, overweight, obese, morbidly obese) are set with certain numbers for a REASON – they are studied and observed levels at which your risk increases for many diseases (including heart disease – the #1 killer in the U.S.).

    To address the argument that it will only worsen people's problems who are suffering from disordered eating, I say this: the one thing they did a really shitty job of addressing in treatment is that despite the fact that you have an ED, you live in the REAL WORLD. YOU are obviously not facing the obesity crisis that much of our nation is, but many people are. There are going to be people on diets, people who skip breakfast, etc. and that might "trigger" you, but that doesn't mean it doesn't exist. I think we need to stop bandaging the fact that EDs are easily triggered, and teach those dealing with disordered eating how to deal with the "real world" and still be OK following their own plans or doing what they need to do for their own health and recovery.

    HAHAH OK I'm done. Obviously I've done a lot of talking about this subject before. Just my .02, and hopefully no one gets offended! Looove it. Have fun at the gopher game tomorrow.. wish I was going!

  12. i really am against the calorie count being displayed, but who knows, maybe it will make restaurants adjust their recipes to be a little healthier…

  13. Pingback: Up and at em « Foodie in the City

Leave a Reply

