My kind of meal

Tonight, Mike is at the Timberwolves game (they play Boston, KG is back in Minneapolis!), so I took full advantage and made a meal that only I would enjoy.

Mike actually tries a lot of the random and sometimes odd food that I cook up (serious trooper), but one thing he won’t go near is tofu.  So tofu it was tonight!

I have been seeing a lot of peanut sauce floating around blog land the past few days, so I thought I would make a tofu that was marinated in peanut sauce.  Errr, my peanut sauce didn’t really work.

I mixed about two to three tablespoons of peanut butter with some two shakes of sesame oil and soy sauce.  I didn’t put any oil into the mixture since I thought the oil in the peanut butter would help crisp up the tofu.  I was wrong.

I salvaged it a bit by cranking up the heat to try to ‘crisp’ the tofu, which made it edible.  While it wasn’t horrible, it wasn’t nearly as good as my tofu perfection I made in September.  I guess you can’t win them all.

On the side, I had some butternut squash.  I topped it with cinnamon, brown sugar and butter.  Killer combo.

008

Who says you can’t dip peanut flavored tofu in ketchup and bbq?  😉

006

007

Since I have been lacking in calcium for the day, I had a side of yogurt.

004

In attempt to get out of my food funk, I was scrounging through the cupboards after work.  Man do we need to eat up some food!

I found something that sparked some interest for a delicious breakfast in the a.m., and it may also serve as a ‘dessert’ this evening too.  It is now baking up in the oven!

I’ve got to jet.  I have a ‘farm’ to attend to and blogs to read!

What are you up to this evening?

7 responses to “My kind of meal

  1. This evening = studying and watching ‘Top Chef’ 🙂

  2. reading blogs is what i’m up to!!! hehe. obvi i had to catch up with my girls 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. Haha you and that Farmville!! We are watching the Yankees/Phils game tonight and I’m snugglin’ up with the dental surgery patient since he was so good to me with cleaning the whole house while being home today 🙂 Sometimes they just amaze you, right? 😉

  4. Oooh, good idea with the PB on the tofu. I’ll have to try that.
    Initially my husband wouldn’t go near tofu, but has slowly come around. Once he got past the texture, he was OK. Now I almost could say he enjoys it!

  5. Love tofu! I think I’m having some tonight!

  6. Do you ever go to the games? We went last night…walked via skyway for the first time, which was a fun little adventure 😉
    You should let me know – we should meet for a pre-game drink sometime!!!

    • foodieinthecity

      My boyfriend has gone to every home game since pre-season, lol. I’ll probably go to one every other week or so.

      I will for sure let you know next time I go. Let me know when you are going next as well. That’d be great to meet up for a pre-game drink!

Leave a Reply

