Cake Wrecks

Has anybody ever heard of, or been to the Cake Wrecks website?

I was reading People magazine at the gym this morning and stumbled across a blurb about this site. I couldn’t wait to visit the site!

The founder of the blog, who now has a cook out, Jen Yates, collects photos of cakes that may not have turned out how they were intended.

For instance…

3654889723_17e8aede60_o

How hilarious is that? Head over to the website I linked above. It will give you some great laughs.

So, it has been awhile since I’ve had oats, no? I have to admit, I kind of forgot about them. Gasp!

This morning, I made a big bowl of oats at work. Not just any bowl, pumpkin chocolate chip oats. An ode to my favorite muffin.

The bowl started with two packets instant oatmeal. (Hey, I do what I can with the microwave at work 😉 )

003

About 1/3 cup of canned pumpkin. I thought a photo of the can would be better. Pumpkin in a container is not very pleasant to look at.

pumpkin

About one heaping tablespoon of chocolate chips.

004

And of course, some agave for sweetness.

006

Holy yum. Talk about a party in my mouth! What would realllly be good is a little bit of crumbled pumpkin chocolate chip muffin in this bowl! 🙂

When we went to TJ’s last week, I picked up what looked to be the most interesting hummus available.

001

Look at the beautiful layers!

002

I of course had to try this last night with some pita chips. The zesty cilantro (green layer) is a-mazing. It has a serious kick to it.

This now staple in my household was the base of a wrap I put together for lunch.

007

So what is in the wrap?

  • Jalepeno cheddar wrap
  • Thick layer of hummus
  • Feta cheese
  • Refried beans
  • Snap peas
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms

008

On the side, I’ll venture out and get some chips of some sort most likely.

I have an enormous honeycrisp apple for snack later. And my bosses boss left a gigantic bag of mixed Halloween candy on my desk. Is she trying to put some lbs on me??

Don’t forget, you have until 8 pm tonight to enter my giveaway!

What is your favorite oatmeal combo?

11 responses to “Cake Wrecks

  1. That wrap looks good!
    I adore cake wrecks. I’ve even sent in a few wrecks in the past!

  2. Indeed!! I own the Cake Wrecks book and visit the website 🙂

  3. Haha that cake is hilarious!

    Peanut butter/banana/chia seed/maple syrup oats made with milk/water combo are by far my fave and I eat them like every day (talkin’ about creature of habit haha)

    That triple hummus combo sounds gooooood 🙂

  4. LOL true fact – pumpkin in a can is well…..kinda barfy looking :-/ I LOVE pumpkin oats. I also love peppermint cocoa oats. Yummm!

  5. I absolutely drool over that hummus every time I see it. thanks for reminding me I need more! I really like straight up banana oats with nut butter of any kind. I am kind of simple when it comes to my oats.

  6. Hi I just found your blog and wanted to say hello, I really loved reading.

    I just discovered a great bowl of oats with strawberries and nutella that melted wonderfully into the oats.

    • foodieinthecity

      I haven’t had nutella in FOREVER! Thank you for reminding me about that glorious product. I need to remember to get some on my next shopping trip 🙂

  7. I’ve always wanted to try that hummus. It sounds sooo good.

  8. I want to enter the giveaway. I would make some panko breaded chicken in an Asian inspired dish. Maybe like a tempura style with Jasmine rice, Teriyaki/Soyaki sauce and veggies!

  9. That website is HILARIOUS. I love it. mmmm three layer hummus? Have I mentioned I’m going to TJs over thanksgiving and I can’t wait! Def picking some of this up!

Leave a Reply

