Creature of habit

Hello, blog world. How are you doing today? I hope good!

So, I thought I would just blog a little bit about what I have thinking this morning. That being, I am a total creature of habit.

I do many things the same way everytime/each day, mostly because it is what I am used to doing and it is comfortable.

For instance… I have a night routine where I always lay out my clothes and food for the next day right when I get home. Otherwise, I feel stressed. I could eat the same food over and over again and not get bored, for your sake, I try not to. But what really got me thinking about this was my habit of exercise.

For instance, this morning. I went to the gym and ran 6 miles. Why? Just because I can and I have. No reason really.

Which got me thinking. Do I really need to be running as much? No, definitely not. Do I really need to go to the gym as often/as long as I do? Nope, I don’t need to be doing this either.

I need to step back and re-evalute my workout routine. Now, I need to break a sweat/move at least five times a week in order to stay sane. Exercise to me is a stress reliever. However, I don’t think I need to be working my body as hard as I am in order to gain the same benefits.

I’ll leave it at that, but feel free to join in on the discussion. Are you a creature of habit?

Moving on to eats! For breakfast, I of course packed another pumpkin bagel. Hey, when you get these babies fresh, without preservatives, you have to eat them fast. 😉

333

Of course, with pumpkin cream cheese. Which, by the way, I take the whole tub. I hate messing with small containers.

334

And to round out my breakfast, some yogurt.

335

Lunch of course incorporated leftover pumpkin risotto from last night. I topped a salad that included greens, mushrooms and feta cheese with a very large scoop of risotto.

331

332

I’ll head somewhere to get a side of bread to have with this salad most likely.

This afternoon I have a honeycrisp and Halloween candy to snack on.

Have a fabulous Monday. And don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

13 responses to “Creature of habit

  1. Oh my, I am the EPITOME of a creature of habit, haha 😀

  2. I can def be a creature of habit in certain respects…. esp when it comes to a daily “routine”. However with exercise I think I am pretty good about changing things up, partially bc I get bored doing the same thing over and over… exercise A.D.D. perhaps? 😉 Happy monday girl!

  3. Jenna- Today I discovered “spice” hershey kisses and they are pumpkin flavored and totally AMAZING! Have you discovered these gems yet?

    • foodieinthecity

      I have not! But they sound fabulous. I need to get to Target ASAP to snag a bag.

      They will most likely go into my desk drawer, which will cause an addiction to form 🙂

      Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. Creature of habit is my middle name. I do the same things over and over again, but never seem to get bored. How i manage to eat the same foods and do the same work outs all the time and not want to pull my hair out is beyond me, but i am the type of person who hates change, but that is something i wish i could change as well, because sometimes i don’t feel like i step out of my comfort zone, which is something i need to be doing more often

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  5. good introspection goin on here! there are some areas of my life where I am SUCH a creature of habit – I hate getting out of my routine, and then there are other parts of my life where I can’t stand doing the same thing twice. funny the way that works…

    have you tried the pumpkin bagel poppers (or whatever they’re called) from einstein? I haven’t yet.. but they look good!

  6. p.s. what’s your schedule like this week? spinnnning?! that would be a change in the routine!

    • foodieinthecity

      Hey! I am super busy this week and am now going to the Gopher game this Saturday. Next week should look better!

  7. pumpkin bagel!! and pumpkin creamcheese, thats just too good to be true!!

    I AM TOTALLY a creature of habit…I can really stress myself out sometimes because I am so stuck in my ways. I like planning and having a set sched and when unexpected things get in the way, I am not a happy camper. It is a good thing but can also be bad because i can be very inflexible! it is something I try to work on each and everyday!

  8. I am such a creature of habit. I really get anxious when things stray from the normal routine. I also love to plan in advance (much to my boyfriend’s dismay since he is Mr. Spontaneity). While I think routine is good and it keeps us sane it’s great that your taking a step back and looking at what you do and why. How healthy!

  9. Yum so much pumpkin!!! I’m lovin it!

  10. pumpkin creem cheese! yumm.
    jenna

  11. Pingback: Food funk « Foodie in the City

Leave a Reply

