Oh (banana doughnuts) glow!

Angela, over at Oh She Glows, is a baking genius. But more on that in a bit!

It has been a very stressful week for both Mike and I in terms of our jobs.  So Mike emailed me today and told me we were going to Trader Joe’s tonight!  What a guy.  Seriously, he knows how to brighten my day.  ❤

So after work we headed over to Trader Joe’s and stocked up on a lot of fun foods which you will be seeing in the upcoming week.  By the time we got home it was already after 7:30.  Jenna + hunger= watch out.  So instead of taking the time to cook up a meal, we improvised on something quick- baked potatoes.

I topped mine with some Trader Joe’s shredded bbq chicken, cheese and a dollop of greek yogurt (great replacement for sour cream).

004

On the side, a salad with sea salt and pepper croutons (which are now my second favorite behind Panera’s Asiagoou) and raspberry vinaigrette.

002

Simple dinner and oh so satisfying.

This afternoon while I was working away I of course was thinking about the overripe banana’s I had at home and what I was going to do with them.  I thought about making banana bread, but I always do that.

Then I thought about banana cake.  But the majority would probably go to waste.  Then I remembered Angela had a recipe for Baked Banana Doughnuts! Well, if she insists we try these, then I guess I can’t not. 😉

Here are mine out of the oven. (There is another plate of them!)

006

My holes kind of didn’t remain ‘holes’ through the baking process.  Can’t win them all.  At least it doesn’t affect the taste.

To jazz some of my doughnuts up, I made a special ‘glaze’.  Aka, my peanut butter frosting: powdered sugar, milk and a big spoonful of peanut butter- I used chunky this time.

I made a special doughnut for Mike when he gets home tonight since I’ll most likely be sound asleep.

009

Looks good huh?  At first I thought these were going to come out tasting and having the consistency of banana bread based off of the dough taste.

Boy was I wrong!  They were veryyyy moist and dense.  I underbaked them by one minute even since I like my ‘dough’ and prefer my baked goods a bit ‘doughy’.  Anybody with me on this? I seriously could have eaten two or three but I resisted.  There is always tomorrow!

After having one and a half doughnuts with icing and way too much dough doughnut I am S.T.U.F.F.E.D. to the brim.  I need to go put on some sweatpants that have an elastic waste!  I am going to crawl into bed and watch He’s Just Not That Into You.  It was a total impulse buy at Best Buy, but worth it.

Tomorrow I am thinking of sleeping in a bit and waking up to have a morning session with Jillian for some shredding.  Nighty night!

What is the best recipe that you have tried in which you got/saw on another blog?

 

10 responses to “Oh (banana doughnuts) glow!

  1. Oh my gosh, those doughnuts look gooood! And stuffed baked potatoes = delicious, complete meal. I always use Greek yog as sour cream now, I can’t even tell the difference!

  2. Glad you had a good field trip to TJs!

    Haha so I’ve been @tweeting you today but apparently we’re not twitterbuds so you can’t see them! They’ll only show up on your page if we’re both following each other. So you know what that means… SperlyTriRunner!!

  3. Oh! And to answer your LTF question – St. Louis Park!

  4. I am so glad you loved the doughnuts! They are amazing 🙂 I did the PB frosting too – but just with PB and water, your sounds much better…. yummmmmy. P.S. Trader Joe’s also always turns my frown upside down 😉

  5. Those look AWESOME!
    He’s just not that into you is the best book 🙂 Some wise words in there!

  6. these donuts look amazing! 🙂 i should check out the recipe!

    goodnight dear!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. I love that Mike knows that TJs will brighten your day. So sweet.

    Those doughnuts look SOOO good. Holy yum.

  8. Pingback: Therefore I Eat » Recipe Kinda Day

  9. I love having baked potatoes for dinner! I like to put Greek yogurt on mine, too 🙂 Looks great.

    It would be way too hard for me to pick my favorite blogger recipe! There are just too many to choose from. However, I think those Baked Banana Doughnuts have potential to make the list!

  10. banana doughnuts?!?! ackkk!!! bloggies are such culinary geniuses!

Leave a Reply

