Musical food chairs

What a day.

I forgot that I had a meeting over lunch in which they provided food for us. No waffle sammie for me!

Instead, I enjoyed a chicken sandwich (they have really, really good bread) and a side salad from D’amico and Sons.

They have my favorite pasta salad of all times:

TURKEY WITH DRIED CHERRIES
Pasta, Almonds, Celery, Onion, Poppyseed Dressing.

This photo doesn’t look the most appetizing but it gives you an idea of what the dish looks like.

c3b495d0db6eb93e89d304d9205e65dc

Sounds so simple but nobody makes it quite like they do.  I of course try to make my own version from time to time at home, but to get the real deal, you have to visit D’amicos.

For dinner tonight I was home alone to fend for myself.  Mike is of course at the Timberwolves season opener with some buddies.

I felt that I needed to get some veggies in my life- I have been severely lacking the past few weeks.  What better way then a salad?

011

In the salad went:

  • Spinach
  • Broccoli
  • Snap peas
  • Garbanzo beans
  • Feta cheese
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Chipotle hummus
  • Refried beans

With some deli style turkey and leftover bread from D’amico’s.  What?  It was good!  I’m not going to let food go to waste, especially bread. 😉 (Everybody did it, lol).

008

Oh, and a gigantic carrot.

007

I totally forgot to tell y’all that I made carrot cake cupcakes last night.  Oh yes, I did.

It was one of my friend’s as work’s birthday today.  Jonathan mischievously found out yesterday that her favorite dessert was either carrot cake or cheesecake.  Here is one of the leftover cupcakes that I kept home for Mike and I.  Shhhh…. don’t tell!

015

016

Since I already had one of these cupcakes as my afternoon snack I won’t be having another tonight.  Okay, maybe a bite. Instead, I may have some pumpkin ice cream and graham crackers, which by the way, is a killer combo.

Night and sweet dreams!  By the way, my menu for today will shift to tomorrow- I’m just playing some musical chairs with my food!

Do you have a favorite restaurant dish in which you can’t exactly replicate at home to your standards? If so, what is it and where is it from?

6 responses to “Musical food chairs

  1. What an deliciously interesting pasta salad – the man is on a poppyseed dressing kick (has downed like 3/4 a bottle since Saturday somehow haha) and would probably love this!

  2. Yayyy for huge salads 🙂 Love the addition of refried beans. There is a restaurant in charleston that makes my FAVORITE salad. I’ve tried doing it on my own…just not the same! How sweet of you to make up those cupcakes! They look awesome

  3. love the huge salad for dinner. you know how much i love salads!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. those cupcakes look delicious!

    There is a salad at a restaurant in Los Angeles that I am crazy about. I cannot replicate the dressing for the life of me!

  5. I LOVE D’amico’s!! There used to be one in the old fire station in Linden Hills (now it’s Tea 28 – not a fan) and when my neighbor and I were little we used to SAVE up our money just to go have lunch there. We would always share the Turkey sandwich, or the pesto pasta (which apparently isn’t on the menu anymore!)

    I’m jealous of your freebie meals.. and they’re GOOD freebies too! Where do you work!?

  6. That restaurant sounds good! We don’t have one of those here. Yay for free grub 🙂

Leave a Reply

