Mock risotto

Great questions are coming in for Niki at Eatz, keep them coming!

Today was kind of a blah day at work. One of those days where you lack any and all motivation.

Warning of a semi-small rant…

Add in the fact that we got an email from our property management company stating that they got two complaints of a dog barking in our apartment today and that they were going to send us an infraction notice, my day could have gone better.

What kind of company not only threatens, but has said they SENT the infraction notice without proof? I wrote a kind of semi-not nice email back to her, details I will leave out, and also asked to see the ‘pet policy’ they claim to have. Still haven’t seen that policy peeps.

Needless to say, obviously there is still at least one dog in the complex. And it got me thinking it wasn’t my little Petrie in the first place that was making noise :(.

034

Love her. And miss her terribly.

Anyway. Moving onto positives!

Dinner tonight was fabulous. I was expecting a not so great dinner since we haven’t gone grocery shopping since we’ve been back. However, we dug up some Cordon Bleu stuffed chicken breasts we had in the freezer. We also had canned green beans, Iowa Girl’s favorite :). Annnnnnd…. some Mock Risotto that I created this evening.

I was craving the creamy goodness of risotto but didn’t have on hand the best ingredients for it.  But I created my own little creamy rice dish anyways.  And it turned out great!

Mock Risotto

To make this ‘mock risotto’ it is really about eyeballing all the measurements.  This is also a dish that can be mixed and matched with your favorite ingredients to make different variations.

Cook how many ever servings of rice you will need.  Mike cooked four servings tonight so that we could have leftovers.  To the cooked rice, I added:

  • Three very large spoonfuls of ricotta (I’d say a heaping 1/2 cup)
  • A handful of parmesan (~1/4 cup)
  • A splash a milk
  • 1/2 of a can of diced tomatoes (drained)
  • 1 large spoonful of tomato paste
  • Salt, pepper and crushed red pepper to taste

Cook over medium heat to melt all of the cheese together to get a rich, creamy rice mixture.  Enjoy!

017

Dinner all together:

014

Ok, ok, ok, I of course had to have some ketchup on the side:

018

AND LOOK WHAT I FOUND AT TARGET OVER LUNCH!!!!!  And stuck my finger in to get a taste before I put it in the office freezer. 😉

020

So.freakin.good.  This is what dessert will be in a bit… looks like a hot couple, no?

019

And I leave you with a few more California photos…

Laguna Beach

007

Newport
021

The cute couple

024

Hollywood, baby!

064

073

069

071

Okay, another long post done.  I promise.  Night!

6 responses to “Mock risotto

  1. I hope you gave those people a piece of your mind about the dog situation girl! That is so obnoxious of them? Anywho, your dinner looks fantastic!!!! I LOVE the “mock risotto” – how creative of you wow 🙂 As for the FitBloggin conference, maybe you could swing an East Coast visit!! 😉

  2. Way to be assertive lady! Someee people… >=( Do you know where you guys are planning on living once the lease is up?

    Pummmmpkin ❤

  3. Got the pumpkin ice cream last week. To. die. for. 🙂

  4. ahhhh i have not been able to find that ice cream yet!

    i am loving your mock risotto and in love with the LA pics…sigh…sometimes it makes me wonder why we continue to live in the midwest 🙂

  5. You know i’ve never had risotto! is that bad? I heard its amazing though, so i shall try it asap!

    I have all these same LA pictures, and it makes me miss it so much! wasn’t it just the best!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  6. Ugh, sorry about your apartment problems. That is so unprofessional of them!

    The risotto sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

