Hello, Cali!

WE FINALLY MADE IT!!!!

If you follow me on Twitter, you are probably aware that I had quite the fiasco in getting to California.  

First, we got stuck in Denver overnight.  Our flight was delayed in Minneapolis, which lead to a delay going to California.  Since we were flying into John Wayne (which you can’t fly in past 11 p.m.) we got stuck :(.  We ended up at the Hilton hotel, which, score, has free cookies.  I definitely needed one after the long evening.

If that wasn’t enough… We woke up at 5:30 in order to get to the airport for our flight to Cali this morning.  Our flight was on time, we boarded the plane, pushed back from the gate, all to figure out that one of the engine’s generators wasn’t working.

So, maintenance fixed the issue in about 30 minutes while everybody stayed on the  plane.  We pushed back again finally, only to find out that now the de-icing contraption wasn’t working!  About another 30-40 minutes later, we FINALLY were on our way.  What a fiasco.  Made this girl tired/slight crabby.   Lol.

Our fabulous lunch when we landed completely made up for all of the troubles we went through.  Not to mention the fact that it is currently about 85 degrees and sunny.  Aka, shorts and a tank top weather in my book!

We went to a restaurant called Roscoe’s, which my brother completely adores.

Oh.my.goodness.  Why do we not have this type of restaurant in Minnesota?  

Roscoe’s is a cute little ‘deli’ type restaurant, but once in which has the feel of a sit down restaurant.  You go up and order your food from the counter; all of the sandwich options are written on chalk boards.  Very ‘beachy’ feel in my mind.  

I was craving veggies like no one’s business, so the Veggie Sandwich was a no brainer.  From the menu:

VEGGIE SANDWICH   

Avocado,Cheddar,Provolone,Lettuce,Tomato, Onion,Pepperoncini and Mayo on Squaw.

 

**We also got to choose a side.  I of course chose the fruit salad.

 

Potato Salad • Macaroni Salad • Coleslaw 

Pasta • Fruit • Chili • Soup 

 

Okay, you are going to have to pretend this is flipped in the right direction.  No idea why these are flipping the wrong direction when I import.

 

 

SSPX0180

SSPX0181

 

SSPX0182

First of all… these sammies are about the size of my head.  Mike could only finish half of his sandwich it was that big.  I managed to finish half of mine too.  I challenge anybody to an eating contest, haha.  When I am hungry, I can CHOW DOWN. :mrgreen:

Second of all… this sandwich was heaven.  You could tell all of the veggies were fresh and cut after I ordered my sandwich.  And you know how much of a bread lover I am.  This ‘squwa’ bread was so soft and delicious I had a big grin on my face the whole time I was eating.  The bread had a honey type flavor to it.

Mike also thoroughly enjoyed his sandwich.  He kept commenting the whole time about how much he loved his.  He got the Hornet:

HORNET  

Hot Turkey,Genoa Salami,Pepper Jack Cheese, 

Sweet Hot Mustard on Squaw 

Ok, I am off to shower and get clean.  We are going to a local tavern tonight to watch the baseball game and see my brothers college roommate who is in town.  Maybe most importantly to have an ice-cold beer.  Being it is vacation and all, not to mention our crazy journey to California, I need one!

 

8 responses to “Hello, Cali!

  1. Have a great trip! Your trials and tribulations so far mean smooth sailing for the rest of it!

  2. so glad you finally made it (and safely!) — enjoy your trip girlie and send me the other half of that sammich… looks sooo gooood 🙂 haha

  3. You poor thing! Glad you are finally there and in the sun! 🙂

  4. which is whyyy I hate traveling. just the getting there/back process… the rest is pretty much OK. 😉

    have you ever had cafrey’s?

  5. Yummy sandwich!!!!!! Dagwood approved 😉 (from that comic in the newspaper lol) Have a great time there girly!!

  6. Ugh, sorry about the sucky traveling ordeal! I would have been so mad! The sandwich looks great though!

  7. Glad to hear to made it to CA in one piece. Love the sandwich!

  8. yay for finally making it to cali! that sammie looks amazing! you can never go wrong with a nice big deli sandwich! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

