Heartbroken

Words can not even express the emotions I have been going through the past 12+ hours… Here we go.

Mike and I got an email yesterday afternoon stating that we had an unapproved pet that needed to be removed within 24 hours. My heart sank and I started bawling my eyes out at work.

In our lease, there states nothing about having an animal. In the fine print in an additional piece of paper they gave us when we moved in, there is a hidden sentence that says no pets. We of course only read the lease. Mike and I are beating ourselves up over how stupid we could have been and we are feeling like this is 110% our fault.

Petrie is now staying at Mike’s parents for the time being. Mike and I will do everything in our power to not take her back to the Humane Society. We are unfortunately in a one year lease that has about nine months left. We really want to keep Petrie since she is our little baby, so we are trying to find foster homes for 9 months.

Call us crazy, call us whatever you want, but until you have lived through that immediate connection, you could never understand.

We are hoping that Mike’s parents and sister will do a rotational schedule of having Petrie at their homes. This way Mike and I could go after work to visit with Petrie and spend a day with her on the weekends. We would totally fund the dog and take her to puppy classes. If they are unable to take Petrie for this period, I have no idea what we will do.

Be creative people, do you have any ideas?

Anyway, I just wanted to give my bloggie friends a heads up of what I was going through. So please bear with me through my sadness, anger, frustration, you name it, I am feeling it. There have been so many tears in this household, I need to try to keep it together.

19 responses to “Heartbroken

  1. Use Petfinder.com – it’s a great resource. I’m TERRIBLY devastated that you’re going through this, and wish I could help more 😦

  2. I am so sorry that this happened!! My thoughts are with you guys and I know you will figure something out… I completely understand about the connection you form so fast too with a pet, so hang in there and know that it will all work out how it’s supposed to πŸ™‚

  3. I’m so sorry:( That must feel terrible. I can’t imagine. I think you have a good plan of action so long as all parties are willing!

  4. that is awful Jenna! I’m keeping you in my thoughts and hoping you can find a way to keep her!

  5. oh no!!!!! I’m so sorry about that Jenna. 😦
    I’m going to try to think of some ideas…

  6. OHH this is so tough 😦
    I hope you find a happy temporary situation.
    I agree about using petfinder.com, if it comes to that.
    Hang in there, it will all work out in the end!

  7. I am so, so sorry. I second petfinder, or perhaps an ad in the paper. Meet anyone who is interested so you know Petrie will be in a good home if you can’t keep her.

  8. I’m so sorry, hope everything works out. My pet is staying at my Mothers till January b/c our apt charges a arm & leg for pet deposit. It’s almost as high as rent.

  9. Oh hon – I’m soooo sorry. It’s your baby 😦

    I hope you can figure something out and she can stay in your lives. Any friends?

  10. Aw, I’m so sorry, and I hope something works out! 😦

    If Mike’s parents/sister can’t take her, do you have any friends who might want to be puppy-foster parents for 9 months?

  11. I’m so sorry! I hope that Mike’s family is able to help. I can’t really think of any other ideas b/c I know it would be astronomical to buy out of a Minneapolis lease…sending good thoughts your way!

  12. oh i am sooooo sorry! rental companies are the worst with that. i wish i had some good ideas – but i think everyone has listed most of them. hang in there girl! something will pop up!

    hugs and love!

  13. aw sweetheart! I am so sorry! I’ve never had a pet myself so I can’t even begin to relate to what your going through — but my thoughts are with you and Mike and I hope you find a great home from Petrie! It will all work out, love!! xo

  14. I’m back!! I asked someone who works in the television business about your situation, and here was his response:

    “Did they try to talk to the landlord about it? Maybe they should talk to an attorney about trying to get out of the lease since the “no pet” information was in a separate document? Call the “troubleshooter” at one of the local TV stations or the newspaper? “

  15. Jenna I’ve been a reader for about a month and felt the need to comment today. I am so sorry that this situation came up. I have a good friend that went though the same type of thing after adopting her second dog. Her condo allowed 1 dog & 1 cat or 2 cats but not 2 dogs, like you this was in a seperate document.She ended up fighting to keep her dogs. I also wanted to mention that I am in Saint Louis Park and if family can not take her, I’d be more than willing to open my heart and home to her. For any amount of time.

  16. 😦 I’m so sorry. Don’t give up, things will work out. I just wish you could keep Petrie with you.

  17. aw girl, i’m so sorry to hear about petrie! I know its going to work out for the better! Keep on smiling! πŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  18. Ugh, just reading this now – heartbreaking!! I am so sorry you had to go through this but it sounds like you’ve got a pretty good resolution with keeping the pup with your Mom. So glad it worked out!!!

  19. Pingback: It’s been a long one. « Foodie in the City

Leave a Reply

