Stuffed with a fall classic

I am stuffed to the brim.  One of those times where you have to go and lay down on the couch… lol.

What the heck did I eat that got me this full you ask?  Chili!

However, as filling as chili is, I don’t think that’s what completely did me in.  I snacked on some cheddar pita chips this afternoon…

014

Trader Joe’s brand.  You know the flavor of burnt cheese?  I love that flavor, and this is kind of what these bad boys taste like.  Look for them on your next trip!  I also snacked on some Fiber One cranberry cereal.  (Hmmm, maybe just too much fiber today? 😳 ).

In classic sitting on the couch watching a Kourtney & Klohe Take Miami marathon lazy Sunday style, I cooked up a pot of chili for dinner.  I called my mom and asked her for her recipe she always made when I was growing up.  Get this guys… you just throw a bunch of stuff in the pot and viola, there ya go!  Here it is:

  • 1 lb. lean ground hamburger (I used turkey)
  • 1 onion chopped

Cook the ground hamburger and onion together, then add the above into a pot with the below ingredients and simmer

  • 1 1/2 (large) cans of diced tomato (I used garlic flava)
  • 2 cans chili beans
  • 1 can tomato soup
  • 1/2 can water
  • Chili powder

And that’s all she wrote friends.

032

Then add toppings!  Sour cream and cheddar cheese for moi.

028

030

With crackers and butta’.  I ended up crunching these crackers into my chili. And went back for more to put with the butter…

031

Sooo fullll guys.  I need to go lay back on the couch. The chili totally hit the spot though :mrgreen:.  Can you tell I just found out how to use the new smilies?

After dinner I had to ‘sample’ the puppy chow.  Now guys, I put mine in the freezer.  This way all of the chocolate and pb gets hard and sticks together, hence…

037

038

Muuahahaha, SO GOOD!

A few of you asked if I have ever ran a half marathon before, which I have not.  It is something I definitely want to do before I run a full marathon.  I am going to chat with my good friend (who finished her first marathon today, SO PROUD OF HER!!!) to see what she thinks.  She finished her first half marathon when she was training for the marathon she ran today. Feel free to let me know what you think of that as well!

What do your Sunday night plans include? Mine include watching more tv and then reading in bed!  Oh, and maybe having a bowl of puppy chow?  It is so good I can’t stop, but I always feel so guilty afterwards.  We shall see, we shall see.

14 responses to “Stuffed with a fall classic

  1. Puppy chow looks good – Chex’s website has some really good looking recipes for other snacks too!

    Coming from someone who has done 4 marathons and LOTS of halfs.. I would definitely recommend doing a half first. I don’t know how far along you are right now in training, but the Monster Dash Half at the end of October is GREAT. It’s put on by Team Ortho.. they always do fantastic races.. and it is such a pretty/fast course. That’s at the end of this month though.. so not very far away. If you’re thinking about a winter half (great for keeping motivated when it gets cold) the Winter Carnival Frozen half is my favorite winter race!!

    Sunday night plans: I’m about to go hit up the grocery store. Woooo.

  2. Love chili, and yours looks great! I love burnt cheese haha. My college roomate and I used to sprinkle shredded cheese on a foil-covered pan and cook until almost burnt, then enjoy! I ran my first marathon before ever running a half, you can definitely do it either way! Tonight will be devoted to Desperate Housewives and Theraflu as I have been sick and natural cures are not working.

  3. mmmmmmmm chili. So perfect for fall. I need to make a pot up soon. I’ve been mostly watching football today 🙂

    Bulldogs are AWESOME. They both are and aren’t a lot of work. They are in the sense that you have to take good care of their wrinkles. I give Frank a bath once a week (paying careful attention to his wrinkles) and then put some cream in the spots that tend to get irritated. Thats pretty much it! They aren’t a lot of work in the sense that due to their breathing issues/joints…they can’ t walk all that far! I LOVE having a bulldog and totally think you should get one too 😉

  4. saltines & butter is one of lifes simplest pleasures.

    I can’t waittttt until my mom whips up her epic chilli on halloween! seriously, like.. I don’t think I can wait until then.

  5. Mmmmm chili!! Wonderful Sunday choice 🙂 Just saw your tweet — you crack me up!

  6. OMG i’m so craving chili now! looks AMAZING!

    I would have never thought of putting the puppy chow in the freezer like that! what recipe do you use? if you’ve already posted it just let me know and i’ll search! Thanks girl!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  7. i love crackers in butter. you should try graham crackers with butter. everyone thinks i’m strange but it is amazing. or do butter with a little jam or PB!!!! so good, now i’m getting hungry! haha

  8. i thought about you as i was running…i was like i wonder if i can see her! thank you so much for coming to cheer us all on – you have NO idea how absolutely fabulous you were!

    and mmmmmm chili…that looks GOOD!

  9. ahhh puppy chow…soooo good!
    jenna

  10. Don’t feel guilty! It’s too good for guilt.

    Your chili looks great! I’m making a big pot of soup tonight too.

  11. I have a friend that had done 10Ks and 15Ks and went for it on the marathon…the TC marathon this weekend, actually! She finished and had a blast…so I bet you could do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

