Another winner

Heyyy, happy Monday evening! How was everybody’s day? Good? Mine was pretty good, nothing to complain about.

From the responses this morning, it sounds like all of us want to go to Greece! Maybe we should plan a bloggie get away there 🙂

This afternoon I partook in the beginning of the Halloween candy trap.  I had something I haven’t had in ages, a fun size Milkyway.  I felt like eating this many…

images

But luckily I stuck to just one.

So today is the first day in Minnesota where you can really tell that winter is coming.  It was in the mid-40’s when I walked to the gym this morning and the wind was gusting all day long.  For this reason, it was definitely a soup night at our house.

We were going to just can it up with good old Campbell’s soup but Mike suggested we make our own from scratch.  This turned out to be a fabulous idea because, ladies and gentlmen, I have yet another winning recipe for you: Tortilla Soup.

I made a few minor tweaks to accommodate what we had on hand.

  • Instead of fajita seasoning, I used taco seasoning.
  • Instead of pinto beans, I used spicy chili beans.
  • Instead of chopped green chiles, we used fresh jalapeno (highly recommend doing this for people who love things spicy and hot).
  • Chopped up a red bell pepper to add in.
  • Omitted the lime juice.
  • Added chopped cilantro.
  • Added chicken.

During the cooking process…

014

015

Dished up with crushed tortilla chips, cheddar cheese and a large spoonful (ok two spoonfuls) of sour cream.

016

All the goodies mixed together.

017

With a roll I heated up in the oven. Dipped some in the soup and had some smeared with butter.

018

The verdict?  Another recipe you need to make ASAP.  It was super flavorful, spicy, quick (under 30 minutes) and healthy (from Cooking Light).  It is also is very versatile, you can add in fun ingredients like we did.  Next time I think I would add some corn in as well as make some guac to dallop on top along with the sour cream.

I have a confession… so today I totally took the ‘Jenna wants to get a dog’ obsession to the next level… I emailed a breeder, eek!  While Mike and I would prefer to adopt a puppy or young dog (6-9 months old), we are also open to breeders.  The type of dog I emailed about today was a Miniature Schnauzer.

miniature-schnauzer-buying

Cute huh?  As much as Mike and I want a bulldog, not sure we are ready for the large expense.  They are extremely expensive, and through research, have high vet bills and take lots of grooming.

The three other dogs we are considering are the schnauz, maltese and pug.  The family I used to nanny for had a pug named Bernie and I grew semi-obsessed with him.  Plus, Tina’s pug Murphy is freakin’ adorable.

Sorry if you guys are getting sick of my dog talk, but it probably won’t stop for awhile ;).

Let’s take a poll…  Why not have a say huh?

Dessert is TBD.  I am thinking a lemon bar from Trader Joe’s.  Have a wonderful evening!

14 responses to “Another winner

  1. That soup looks amazing! I already printed off the recipe and plan on making it tomorrow night for dinner. Thanks!

    I really hope you guys get a dog. My husband and I have a dog and love him to death. He is actually sitting next to me right now, wishing the laptop wasn’t on my lap. Haha!

  2. I’m going to copy that recipe down, because that finished product looks AMAZING! 🙂

    I used to have a maltese and he was AMAZING! they are so adorable (yet any dog is for that matter) i can’t wait to know when you hear back from the breeder!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  3. My dog is part Maltese 🙂

  4. 40 degrees there ALREADY?!!? Holy cow! :/ Ah well, that soup looks totally awesomely yummy and a great way to warm up 🙂 Yummmmm! Enjoy your night and can’t wait to see more about the potential new 4-legged member of your fam!

  5. Awwww little puppy’s soooo cute! My husband’s family has a mini shnauz and she is just the sweetest, most docile dog in the world – they’re a great breed!

    We would really love to get a bulldog too – but you’re right – the added expense of taking care of their breathing/nose problems, coupled with their snoring, drooling and short life span, just kind of sealed the no bulldog deal for us!

  6. ahhhhhh I LOVE TORTILLA SOUP! this looks so good girl!

  7. Haha I feel like I need to comment on everything!

    a) soup looks bomb
    b) that dog is adorable
    c) HECK YES it was cold today! I know the wind played a huge role in that, and I know if it were 50 but March we’d probably be in flip flops and shorts.. but brrr!

  8. Lovely soup. Perfect for a chilly evening. Your rockin the recipes girl!

  9. haha and i forgot:

    d) I went to TJs after spin today. No lemon bars.. but I did get a few yummy desserts!

    And what do you know.. the “good question” on WCCO just now was “why does 50° feel cooler in September than it does in April?” =)

  10. What a cutie! That puppy totally wants to come home with you! And that soup – i’ve gotta try making that!

  11. I love tortilla soup and that one looks fabulous!

  12. I’m totally going to make that soup soon! I just wrote all the ingreds into my grocery list!

  13. yaaa! get a MALTESE! they are super cute and i have one! her name is bella 🙂
    jenna

Leave a Reply

