Overnight oats failure

Happy Monday to you all. I hope you are starting off the week wonderfully!

As you can probably tell by my post title, I attempted to make overnight oats last night, and it was a complete failure :(. I knew it looked a little soupy last night, but that is how I always make my oats (I like them a little runny).  Maybe that is what caused it to not work out? Any pointers would be appreciated it you have made overnight oats before.

To make matters worse, I made them ‘in a jar’ using up the last of my BARNEY BUTTER. Not a happy camper that my Barney gold is ruined.

Okay, rant over. On a positive note, I did get an amazing nights sleep last night and woke up refreshed and ready to run. I did 7 miles in 65 minutes on the treadmill this morning. Awesome way to start the week on the right foot if you ask me.

Since I was breakfastless this morning, I decided to treat myself to a bagel sammie from Brueggers. I ordered an egg white and cheddar sammie on a whole wheat bagel. Great post-run nutrition if you ask me :).

breakfast-sandwiches

Lunch is leftovers from last nights incredible meal, Buffalo Chicken Pot Pie. I am already excited and looking forward to lunch, lol.

033

And since my lunch photo doesn’t do the dish justice, here is a photo from Rachael’s website of this dish.

potpie_final

Annnd, a photo of the fabulous cook. I was searching for photos of her in Google images last night and barely recognized her in this photo. She is always a naturally beautiful woman, but here she looks gorgeous!

rachael ray

Oh, and I also brought a banana to have with lunch.

Ok friends, since it is always a little hard to get back in the swing of things, I decided, why not make it harder ;). Jk… my goal of the below photos is inspiration to work hard so you can play hard and visit one of these locations. Would you rather go to…

1. Thailand

thailand-beach-1024x819

2. Greece

Greece_-_Fiscardo_2

3. New York City

midtown_skyline2c_new_york_city

Or, 4. Northern Minnesota

227926099_edec47b1c5

Tell us all where you would want to go and why. It is a tough descision, but if I was forced to chose, I probably would go with Greece. I have obviously been to Northern Minnesota, but I have not been to the other three locations. So why Greece over the other two? Because it has the ocean, the beauty and a lot of cool history to go along with it. I hope that is a good enough answer 🙂

Ta ta for now!

18 responses to “Overnight oats failure

  1. I would pick Greece too! I’ve been to N. Minnesota (I’m a Wisconsin girl!) and also NYC. Although Thailand seems BEAUTIFUL, I have been to tropical places before, whereas Greece would be something totally different to me!

  2. Thailand or Greece. We’re going to Greece for our honeymoon (probably), so I’ll get to cross that one off my “places I want to visit” list soon!

  3. sorry to hear about the oats 😦 but the bagel sammie looks like a good replacement, esp after running so darn much (don’t know how you folks do it, kickboxing and yoga for this gal) ! i would pick greece, i have always wanted to go to Santorini Island (check it out) after seeing it on TV a while back.. *sigh*

  4. NYC!! I go there all the time, but I love it 🙂

  5. Greece simply because of the food, the beautiful colors and the history.

  6. Sorry about the overnight oat fail- did you throw them out? Microwaving the jar for 30-40 seconds will thicken them. I usually just stir 1/2 cup oats into 3/4 cup yogurt overnight, but everyone else seems to add liquid too. I like mine thick though!

    I vote NYC- my favourite city in the world 😀 I am going there next week…

  7. I will be very surprised if you hear any Northern MN answers!!! And if you do, please let them know they have an open invitation to come stay with me 🙂

    I’ve been to NYC and Greece, but would go back to both in a heartbeat. However, first choice would be somewhere new, so Thailand would be my pic.

    Have a great Monday!

  8. That bagel sandwich looks delish! I have been craving a bagel for weeks now, and that pic is making me crave one even more. I think I’d pick Greece also. The culture, the archtitecture, the food, the beauty! Oh, I wanna go now!

  9. I’d say Greece, too! I’ve always wanted to go there and see everything.

  10. Thailand – I’ve been dying to go there and I’ve been to the other spots. (Greece is also wonderful)

  11. I want to go to all of those places, and sadly haven’t been to any of them.

    Sorry about your Barney jar, that is very sad 😦

  12. 7 miles this morning! girl your amazing! 🙂 your post run fuel looks amazing, i had no clue that brueegers had egg white bagel sandwiches! i must go seek that out!

    Ah these locations are all places i want to go. but i’ve always said i wanted to go to Greece so so bad! so i think i would pick that, but then go to NYC right after! hahaha

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  13. I loooooooooove Rachael Ray–she really does look great in that pic!

  14. I am exactly with you.. being from Minneapolis, I’ve been up north a billion times. As gorgeous as the BWCA is, I would definitely pick Greece. Haha all thanks to the first time I saw the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants!! My reasons have changed since then.. but I’m still dying to go there!

  15. I didn’t like overnight oats my first time either. The key was 1/2 a mashed banana! OMG made it amazing. I used 1/4 muesli mix, 1/2 cup milk, few scoops or yogurt, 1/2 mashed banana. But if you do 1/2 cup oats, you may not want a full cup of milk – that might make it too runny.

    I want to visit NYC so badly, but I feel that it’s a more “do-able” trip than the Greece or Thailand. They’re more “exotic”. So I’d go with Greece!! Or Thailand. haha

    • Thanks for the pointer! Next time I will try putting in the naner. 🙂

      I haven’t ever been to NYC either. I want to try to go next year!

  16. ehh! all of those look great places to visit!
    jenna

Leave a Reply

