I have waited so long for something so good

What an evening I have had! It has been filled with success *for the most part*.

After work we headed to a local shopping mall to meet Mike’s mom at one of my favorite stores ever, Crate & Barrel. I could easily spend hours and hours, as well as thousands and thousands $$, there if I was forced ;). Our goal was to find new dishware. We were less than impressed at the selection that they had though. I was a little disappointed.

I suppose I can forgive you C&B, but you lost our business to Macy’s. We were very successful at finding a set that we loved, not so successful at getting the whole set since they were out of the cereal bowls, four of our dinner plates, two of our mugs and two of our salad plates. And, of course, this product is on backorder too. So it will be about a month before we complete our set. Annoying.

I will be showing off our new plates tomorrow, don’t you worry. Thank you to Mike’s parents for graciously buying our new dinnerware, and to my mother, for buying us our kitchen table. Great housewarming presents! We are very lucky to have such loving and supportive families, so a big shout out to them!

We finally made it to the Cheesecake Factory at about 8, famished! I know some people have mixed feelings about the Cheesecake Factory, but I love it. But there are some things that I don’t like…

Dislikes
-The menu that is basically a novel.
-Their portion sizes are out of control. You wonder why we have an obesity problem in America.
-The supposed nutritional facts of their dishes, which are kind of scary… However, I hardly ever go here, so I’m not too concerned!

Likes
-I am a bit obsessed with their bread that I called ‘honey wheat’. Although, not sure that is correct. It tastes like it maybe has molasses in it?
-I’ve never had a dish that I didn’t like
-Their amazing cheesecakes and cakes
-The ambiance

Anyway, long story short, my meal tonight was pretty freakin’ good. These photos are stand in’s, but they do the trick.

To start my meal, I had this, plus another dark piece of bread. I was starving couldn’t get enough of the carb goodness.

cheesecake_bread_slice

For dinner, I couldn’t decide between many, many different entree’s. However, after a recommendation by my co-worker who used to work at Cheesecake, I got the Navajo.

Warm Fry-Bread Stuffed with Grilled Chicken, Avocado, Lettuce, Tomato, Red Onion and Mayonnaise. Served with French Fries or Green Salad.

cheesecake-factory-navajo1

Oh dear, this was good. But what made the sandwich was the fried bread. The insides were pretty standard, but you can’t get the fried bread just anywhere. I ate half of the sandwich and half of the fries for dinner. The rest will be lunch tomorrow :). I was stuffed after wrapped up this meal!

However, there is no way on Earth I could leave the Cheesecake Factory without getting cheesecake. Yes, I am on the Cheesecake Factory’s email list, so when I got an email about Stefani’s Ultimate Red Velvet Cheesecake this past Spring, I knew that the next time I went, it was a must get.

Moist layers of Red Velvet Cake and our Original Cheesecake covered with our special Cheesecake Factory cream cheese frosting. 25¢ from the sale of each slice will be donated to Feeding America, the nation’s food bank network.

I’m even giving back to the community! Now these pictures are actually taken by me…

007

008

009

We also got a slice of the Lemon Raspberry Cream Cheesecake.

Raspberry-Vanilla Cake, Creamy Lemon Cheesecake, Raspberry Lady Fingers and Lemon Mousse.

005

006

While I could very easily eat my whole slice tonight, I will be eating over the course of the next two or three nights. I have to pace myself!

Have you been to the Cheesecake Factory? If so, what is your favorite kind of cheesecake you have gotten.  If not, what kind would you order from this lineup?

TGIF in a few hours, and SCONE FRIDAY!

13 responses to “I have waited so long for something so good

  1. Been there a few times – I love their Pear & Endive salad (grilled chicken, endive, radicchio, arugula, roasted pears, blue cheese, candied pecans, tomatoes & vinagrette — so good!) Check it out if ya wanna, we went a few weeks back 🙂 TGIF!!!

    http://cookinfanatic.wordpress.com/2009/08/21/celebratin-twinkles-birthday-and-other-suburbia-adventures/

  2. Haha I love reading blogs of people who live in the same city… C&B, Macy’s, and the Cheese Cake Factory.. I definitely know which mall you were at! That was my go-to mall until I was like mid-way through high school.. and then it kinda fell off. I think they could do a lot to bring in new business. I actually need to get my butt down there to ATT to get a new phone!

    If you hadn’t already settled on dishes, I definitely would have said go to Kitchen Window! Haha as long as you’re not the ones paying, their stuff is SO NICE! I could just browse there for hours.

    Yesss I definitely do love the Cheesecake Factory. I actually really DON’T like cheesecake though! If I get dessert, I always one of their other desserts.. TIRAMISSU yummm!!

  3. i have never been and now after seeing your meal, i must go! ahh! amazing

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Oh lordy lordy cheesecake lordy. I want to try that red velvet one soooo badly. My cousin said it was amazing. I’ve been there probably 6 times, but have NEVER gotten cheesecake – sad!! I’ve had a salad, the lettuce wraps (yummy!), some pasta dish (night before my marathon!), turkey burger, mushroom burger…my fave is the lettuce wraps. Yummm.

  5. I LOVE C & B…and Pottery Barn and Restoration Hardware…Ok I should stop.
    I’ve never been to a cheesecake factory…I’m kind of afraid after reading the nutritionals before…SCARY! I would for sure have to get cheesecake if I went there.

  6. omg i loooooove cheesecake factory. my favorite is the oh-so-decadent chocolate, peanutbutter cookie dough cheesecake! i usually finish llike 75% and feel so nauseuous after which is why i only go like once a year lol

  7. I LOVE their cheesecake! My fave is the Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake and it’s G-Free, so that’s wonderful! I did take my “gluten blocker” pill last weekend and had a bit of my boyfriend’s red velvet slice though…..

    OH MY GOSH. Heaven. I’m kind of jealous that you have a slice to enjoy…perhaps I need to go back 🙂

  8. Pingback: The start of an adventure (and good eats!) « Foodie in the City

  9. The bread at Cheesecake Factory is hard to quit! Your meal looks yummy and I need to fix the fact that I’ve never had anything red velvet ASAP!

    Glad you had luck finding new dishes! 🙂

  10. I am so hungry now! I love the pumpkin cheesecake!

  11. Yay for the dishware! So exciting.

    I’ve been there a few times. Don’t really remember what I go though, but their cheesecake is TDF!

    I’d go with the Red Velvet or the Coconut Cream. Yum!

  12. totally agree with you on the pros and cons of cheesecake factory! you are so correct!
    i like the adam’s peanut butter fudge cheesecake!
    yummmm
    jenna

  13. I have a sad sad confession – I’ve never been to a cheesecake factory! my life now feels somewhat in complete.

Leave a Reply

