Tofu Perfection

Hey guys! I hope you are all enjoying your Friday evening.

I had a very long day at work today, and I’m not really feeling 100%. I’m not sure if it is stress or actually just feeling a bit under the weather. Needless to say, after this post, I am going to lay on the couch and completely veg out :).

Mike is at an alumni event for his fraternity tonight, so I was all by myself for dinner. Fine by me, because that means tofu! Guys, I think I seriously perfected my tofu skills. I now know that I wasn’t cooking the tofu properly at all before. Don’t get my wrong, the two times I’ve made tofu in the past few weeks, it was good. But this time it was dammmmn good.

Close up!

008

Ohhh yea. Look at how crispy the outside is. So what did I do you ask in order to get the tofu so perfect?

I mixed up a rub of one tablespoon oil, maple syrup and ‘Suicidal Buffalo Wing Sauce’. This sauce definitely makes your eyes water, but I loved the spicy/sweet combo that was going on. I baked the tofu at 400 degrees for 15 minutes on each side.

Along side, I had some cajun sweet potato fries with ketchup and a jazzed up mayo. I added some pesto and parmesan cheese to the mayo and mixed it all together. A spin on an aioli, which is often served with sweet potato fries.

006

007

Lastly, some calcium in the form of blueberry yogurt.

005

I’m on a cereal kick lately as late night snack, so I will most likely have a small bowl before bed. I may just have a small glass of red wine to help me come down from the long and blood pressure raising work day.

If I am feeling better, I’m going to hit the gym for a run in the morning. I am also going to check out the new fall class schedule. I heard that new classes start tomorrow. Yippppie!

Do you try to maintain your eating habits on the weekend, or do you give yourself a little bit more freedom to splurge?

I always give myself a little wiggle room on the weekend to enjoy a few of the more ‘indulgent’ foods out there. To me, it is a time where I am mostly with friends, family and Mike. Food to me is something that should be shared and should be an experience, so I would rather loosen my belt a bit and have good food and wine to make my weekend even more enjoyable. Cheers!

Toast with red wine

11 responses to “Tofu Perfection

  1. you make tofu look so good. i’ve only had it once in my entire life, and that was a long time ago. I don’t think that any other person in my family would be willing to try it, so i think the next time i get to make my own meal for dinner i’m going to try your recipe sans the hot hot sauce, only cause i dont like spicy foods, but other then that your recipe sounds awesome! thanks for the idea

    Hope you feel better tomorrow love! 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. Have a great night relaxin’ and enjoyin’ some vino – hope you wake up feelin better tomorrow!! 🙂 I’ve never made tofu p.s. — although I might say that I am intrigued…. now I just need to get the man out of the house for a meal so I can try this like you did 😉

  3. Sweet potato fries are the best!

    I try to have treats now and then, but through the week too 🙂

  4. Those sweet potatoe fries look amazing!
    With all the eating out I’ve done in the past two weeks feel like it’s been one long weekend…YIKES!
    I like to give myself a little more freedom on the weekends, like if I’m going to get froyo, I wait until the weekend when I can really enjoy it!

  5. I like your rub for the tofu. I really want to try it! Sweet and spicy is always a good combo. To answer your question, I eat pretty consistently all week. If I want a something sweet, or want to drink some wine, I have it, regardless of the day. However, most parties are on the weekend, so I do indulge a bit more on alcohol of some weekends.

  6. Yum, I want that meal for breakfast! I love the aioli!

  7. i still eat very healthy on the weekends 🙂
    jenna

  8. i feel like i am always trying to perfect tofu!! yours looks great and will try it out next time i make some, thanks girl 🙂 as for eating healthy, i still eat pretty healthy on the weekend–except for maybe a few more drinks consumed but it all balances out in the end. have a great weekend!

  9. I’m so scared to try tofu, but I know I need to. Yours looks great!

  10. Pingback: My kind of meal « Foodie in the City

Leave a Reply

