Celebration!

At about 4:30 this afternoon I got an email from Mike saying he got a PROMOTION!!! I am so happy for him, he definitely deserves it ❤

He was going to the gym after work, so I replied 'I'll have one of your favorite dinners waiting for you when you get home!'. What is this meal you ask? Meat loaf. I must admit though, what an un-appetizing name for a meal, if you really sit and think about it… anyway, moving on :).

Now, I never think of making meat loaf and never really crave it, but whenever I have it, I absolutely love it. I think the last time I had it has to have been years ago when my mom made it for me. Which, mom, if you read this, you make a killer meatloaf!

Oddly enough, in the latest Cooking Light magazine, they had a Quick Meat Loaf recipe that caught my attention.

Nutritional Information
Calories: 267
Fat: 13.1g (sat 5.1g,mono 5.5g,poly 0.7g)
Protein: 25.6g
Carbohydrate: 10.8g
Fiber: 0.7g
Cholesterol: 127mg
Iron: 3.4mg
Sodium: 679mg
Calcium: 44mg

Not too bad for 1/4 of the recipe. Which, I couldn’t even eat that much with all of the sides we had, however, look at that rockin’ protein stat. I love it. So I used this recipe with a few adaptions: I used lean ground turkey instead of sirloin, I used red onion instead of green onion, used like four times the amount of red pepper flakes, added some parmesan cheese and I used cornmeal instead of breadcrumbs (I didn’t have any breadcrumbs on hand).

I didn’t tell Mike about the changes to the recipe until after the meal due to a few botched ingredient changes in previous recipes, which have not turned out so great… oops!

011

012

I totally snagged the crispy end piece, mwuahaha! Verdict on this recipe? Awesome. I knew right away I had a winner when Mike took his first bite and went ‘Oh man, this stuff is amazing’ ;). Brownie points in my book!

This loaf was nice and moist, packed with flavor. However, I couldn’t taste the parmesan cheese at all. Now, I only used 1/4th of a cup, so next time, I would either add more or leave out the cheese all together.

On the side, we had instant potatoes- hey, this meal wasn’t planned, I didn’t have the ‘real deal’ on hand… They were cheddar and sour cream flavored, tasty at first, but after a few bites, disgusting. We had another packet of this flavor on hand which we through out immediately. I mixed in some corn into my mashed potatoes. I’ve always loved doing this.

010

And also, a filling salad that was refreshing, and got in my veggies! My salad included lettuce, tomato, cucumber, grapes and feta cheese. Topped off with some raspberry vinaigrette. I devoured this.

013

All together now… this is one packed plate!

009

Perfect meal for a glass of red wine alongside, me thinks

008

Mike has requested some ice cream for dessert. For some reason I am craving a small bowl of cereal, so we’ll see what I end up gravitating towards.

So today, Tina’s lunch post touched on the topic of a photo that appeared in Glamour magazine of Lizzie Miller. Tina asked her readers what their opinion on the photo was. I am very opinionated about this subject matter, so on my mmm, about 2 minute lunch break, I wrote a speedy response:

I think the picture is great personally. Yes, maybe a bit shocking to some, but I think it is what our society needs. We are constantly bombarded with unrealistic stick figures, fad diets, unrealistic ‘meal plans’ to lose weight. If this is what it takes to get the message out to young girls and women that, hey, be confident in your own skin, you don’t need to be a stick figure, etc., they hey, I support it 100%.

As a person who has dealt with ups and downs in relation to their image and trying to meet societies unrealistic expectations of what is considered ‘beautiful’, this is why I have a strong opinion. I probably could write a novel on this subject, but I will spare you all :).

What are you thoughts and feelings on the issue of what society deems as ‘beautiful’ and ‘healthy’? What was your comment to Tina’s lunch post question?

I’m off to spend some time with my sweetie! Night all, tomorrow is Thursday already, whoohooo!

9 responses to “Celebration!

  1. aw girl you are such a cutie whipping up an awesome meal for your man! so adorable you are!!! I’m not a fan of meatloaf but to be honest this recipe looks amazing! hope you have a good rest of the night and tell the hubby congrats for me!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. CONGRATS to your man! That is so exciting. And aren’t you just the best wife ever for making one of his favorite din dins! love the grapes in the salad- yumm

  3. Congrats to the boy!!! That is so exciting!
    I think the picture is beautiful – she is beautiful and I still can’t believe that she is a plus-sized model?? Although I have heard that “plus-sized” models are only like size 8…..?!?!?

  4. Nice meatloaf…good idea subsituting the cornmeal instead of breadcrumbs…rolled oats are a good subsitution too. I checked out that picture on Tina’s blog…I can’t believe she was turned away for plus-size modeling…that’s means that I’m over plus-size to their standards. That is pretty crazy! All I can say is good for her for being real. We need more “real” women in the media today!

  5. I haven’t had meatloaf in such a long time – yours looks awesome!

    I saw the picture awhile ago, and I love it. She’s beautiful and real.

  6. that plate is packed and looking oh so delicious! for reals. love the substitution of oatmeal for breadcrumbs – i am going to have to remember that one!

    that lady in the pic is gorge – not by any standards other than what matters: she looks confident, happy and healthy!

    woowoo to the boy!

  7. that dinner looks good! I also love mixing corn into my mashed potatoes. so good!

  8. Yay! Promotions are always exciting. Good for him. That was super sweet of you to make his favorite meal.

    I agree that the picture was great. Loved it.

  9. I’ve always been a fan of plus-size models! I love that Glamour image. There’s a great site with many images of plus-size models here:

    http://www.judgmentofparis.com/

    They’re all gorgeous.

    The site’s forum also has thought-provoking discussions about body image and the media.

Leave a Reply

