2009 Food Awards

It’s Thursday!!! As I just tweeted a few minutes ago, it’s time to work hard so I can play hard šŸ™‚

I had a tough time rolling out of bed this morning, which led me to dashing to work. I reallllly need a coffee this morning, so I think I’m going to have to head down to Caribou soon. How sad (orr errr not sad?) is this, we have a Caribou in my building and a Caribou in each of the two buildings that connect to my building via skyway. Not to mention, one building having a Starbucks as well. Bad for my wallet…

For breakfast this morning, I ate the last bit of banana chocolate chip bread that I totally forgot about. Good thing Mike hadn’t been forgetting about it!

004

005

Look at all of those chocolate chips, mmmm. Makes this girl happy šŸ™‚

006

At least I won’t get suckered into buying a pastry at Caribou. My banana bread is way healthier than theirs, thank you very much!

I also brought a banana to have along side to get in some fresh fruit. Why not carry the banana theme throughout my breakfast, huh?

007

Lunch today is TBD. We have a baby shower for a woman here at work, which, might I add, she is one of the cutest prego ladies ever? The lady who is throwing the shower picked a ‘suprise’ restaurant, so I’ll have to report back! I seriously hope I can make it though, I am swamped at work… if I can’t, it will most likely be Subway!

Last night I was looking at some health magazine websites and came across Self’s 2009 Food Awards.

They also walk you through their selection criteria. While I’m sure we could all find something wrong and definitely right about the criteria, I guess they need to be able to have some guidelines in which they can narrow down the finalists. So, let’s just go with it :).

I found a few of my favorite things on the list…
Best Ice Cream
Edy’s Light Slow Churned Neapolitan
Best Candy
Sour Patch Watermelon
Best Tortilla Chip
Food Should Taste Good, The Works!

Some things I would like to try and/or have seen around blog world:
Best Waffle
Van’s 97% Fat Free
Best Veggie Meal
Kashi Black Bean Mango
Best Granola
Bear Naked Native Mango, Agave, Almond (you know this sounds INCREDIBLE!)

And one that I just highly disagree with….
Best Peanut Butter
Smucker’s Natural Creamy

Why do I disagree you ask? Only because I think it should not only be almond butter, but Barney Butter Almond Butter!!

What do you think of this list? Do you see any of your favorite foods, foods you want to try, or foods you disagree with?

See you later, gators!

4 responses to “2009 Food Awards

  1. Bear Naked Granola is so so good! I love it!

  2. Hope you had fun at the baby shower. Good luck with your busy day!

  3. bear Naked fruit and nut granola all the way! And the best frozen meal would be Amy’s. I don’t like the Kashi ones much…hmm…food for thought, literally šŸ˜›

    Enjoy your day!

  4. I was pretty impressed with a lot of things on that list. Usually they’re all low-fat, low-calorie processed type of foods, but a lot of them were actually good stuff!!

Leave a Reply

