Read the label!

Evening all!

Wowza, today was a busy, busy day at work. The next few weeks are going to be long days filled with, most likely, lots of long hours. I am hoping it doesn’t get too nasty!

Anyways, funny story for y’all now that I am not in a negative mood as I was last night. So, remember my failed attempt at making the enchilada’s last night? Probably a good thing because I bought this accidently last night…

003

Instead of this…

002

Yep, VANILLA instead of plain! Lol. The funny thing is, I thought to myself, ‘Oh, it can’t be too bad, I’ll just stir it in and Mike will never know…’. Umm, yea, I tasted a small dab of the ‘insides’ that had the vanilla yogurt, it would have been hoooorible. But funny ;).

So needless to say, I ventured to Target over lunch to get the proper ingredient.

So tonight was: Cheesy Chicken Enchilada’s from Cooking Light. This is the same recipe mom my made for us when we were in Texas. Mike and I are obsessed with these. The site only gave it 4 out of 5 stars, but we give it 5 out of 5!

Here are the different stages of the dish…

The ‘insides’

001

Out of the oven, but before the cheese topping (no worries, there is cheese inside too!)

014

Out of the oven, with the cheese

015

And plated…

018

Ok, so there may have been some trouble ‘plating’. Not the best presentation, but all I care about at the end of the day is the taste, and that was damn good :).

I had some sour cream and salsa on the side of my enchilada. Here is the new salsa we got yesterday. It is a bit sweet with corn and black beans, so I l.o.v.e.d. this stuff!

012

Along side, we had some broccoli and cauliflower (with ketchup for me of course!).

020

These enchilada’s are very, very filling. I can feel it sitting like a brick on the bottom of my stomach.

And for dessert, I will be having a bowl of this delicious goodness later, Moose Tracks, mwuahahaha!

024

Look at this… peanut butter filled chocolate cups? Ummm, YES PLEASE!

023

What is your favorite type of Mexican food? Yes, chips and guac do count, because that is my favorite!

So Mike is off jamming with his band tonight, so I am home alone with the creatures (I’m convinced they are still here and Mike thinks I’m crazy!). I may or may not be sitting with my tennis racket by my side tonight…

Time to catch up on all of your fabulous blogs, my reader count is way too high right now! Night friends.

17 responses to “Read the label!

  1. owwwww this sounds super yummy! Who cares about presentation- taste is what matters πŸ™‚ I hate when I accidently buy the wrong thing at the store- I do it all the time too because I’m always in a hurry πŸ™‚

    • Me too :/ My stomach was growling and I was in such a hurry to get home and EAT. I need to learn my lesson, STOP GOING TO THE GROCERY STORE HUNGRY! πŸ™‚

  2. A girl I worked with just made this CLight enchiladas too — and gave them the same rave reviews! Great job on din, it looks superb πŸ™‚ Still waitin’ on my PBLoco – it’s GOTTA come tomorrow, I am convinced hahaha.

    • I will be crossing my fingers for you. I can’t wait to hear what you think. And even more so, your thoughts on the caramel apple!

  3. Favorite type of Mexican food = guacamole, for sure! And tamales πŸ™‚

  4. oh. my. goodness. Thank you for posting this recipe! I gotta try these out!

  5. hey i just found your blog from pb & jenny and it is really cool! i can’t wait to keep reading! i just made my own blog so you can check mine outt!
    jenna

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoy my blog πŸ™‚

      I will definitely read yours as well. Have a great evening!

  6. ohhhh girl, that recipe looks soooo good! why does every girl love Mexican food? it’s just so dayum good. i would have to say my fave is chips and guac – you just can’t beat it!

    enjoy your solo night me lady!

  7. I am definitely a ginormous burrito fan!! But a good taco salad is delicious too πŸ™‚

    Vanilla enchiladas?? Mmmm??? haha

  8. love love guacamole and quesadillas! or ceviche is always a favorite too!

    this cooking light recipe looks ah-mazing, can’t wait to try it!

    p.s. you just made my night by informing that “moose tracks” ice cream can be bought by the pint! haha thanks girl!

  9. omg I was eyeing this recipe last week – I must make it soon – yours look amazing!!!

  10. That looks SO good! I’m going to have to try it!

  11. I love enchiladas but have never been brave enough to try making them. I love all Mexican food! Especially tamales.

  12. aw man, bummer about the yogurt! at least you noticed before you plopped the whole container in to those enchiladas (which look killer by the way). Mi amo mexican food πŸ™‚ anything with cheese and beans makes me a happy chick!

Leave a Reply

