Back to school!

Hey blog world! It is back to school day here in Minneapolis, and it feels weird that this is the second year in which I have not been heading to class. I’m a huge nerd and love to learn, so I get a bit nostalgic.

Anyway, have fun kiddo’s ;).

I was totally M.I.A. last night, sorry guys. Once we got home, I woofed down some food and then my head hit the pillow to a deep sleep.

My goal was to get up this morning and head to the gym for a nice, long run, in effort to get back into my normal routine after this weekend.

Success!! Although it was a bit of a brutal awakening at 5:45, I managed to get my booty out of bed and get to the gym. And what a workout I had: 7 miles in 65 minutes, just like Sunday. A nice way to get back into my healthy mindset, I must say!

Due to the fact that I wanted nothing to do with anything if it wasn’t food or my bed last night, I didn’t manage to pack anything for breakfast or lunch. So what is a girl to do?

I stopped at Starbucks and got a Greek Yogurt Honey Parfait. I needed something refreshing, and this is totally hitting the spot. This is the first time I have bought this, since I usually try to bring breakfast from home, but I must admit, I would definitely buy this again. Nice work Starbucks :).

Stand in photo

images

I also got a java to give me a little jolt this morning.

Lunch is TBD. I will be back later tonight to report on my goodies of the day. I’m sure I’ll get snacky due to my long run.

Since today is the first day back to school for many around the country, I thought I would ask a ‘festive’ question.

If you went to school/are going to school, what college did you attend? What is your most embarrassing story from any grade level in your schooling?

I went to DePaul University for one semester before transfering to the University of Minnesota- goooo GOPHERS!!! 🙂

Two embarrassing stories.
1). The first day of freshman year in high school I feel down the stairs headed to the first floor (the seniors floor). A bunch of senior guys laughed and made fun of me- totally traumatizing for a freshman girl.
2). I had separation issues in elementary school on the first day back (thank god I got over them, haha). My brother would have to walk me to class and stay with me for a few minutes. I would the proceed to start crying at some point during the day, in which the teacher would then have to call my mom and have her calm me down.

Off to work. Have a good one!

9 responses to “Back to school!

  1. I had no clue that starbucks had greek yogurt in their parfaits. I attended Pensacola Christian College my freshmen year and then transfered to Texas Womens University in Texas. After a couple of changes to my major, i’m still there…trucking on. 🙂

  2. James Madison University – GO DUKES!! What a great four years that was… *sigh* nostalgia setting in!

  3. I have been wanting to try those parfaits since seeing them on Carrots N Cake but have yet to find them in a Starbucks down here! Whats up with that? Hope you have a lovely lunch. Great job on the run this am.

    Glad to hear I’m not the only one nervous to drive after getting a ticket!! Yikes

  4. Aw I always get nostalgic this time of year too. It’s my third year now. (wow!)

  5. 7 miles before work? Awesome! I have been wanting to try that parfait.

    I went to the University of Oklahoma. I went through an extended awkward phase in school, but I think my most embarassing moment was in first grade when I peed my pants in line to ask to go to the bathroom. We weren’t supposed to go unless we got permission and I didn’t realize that if I was about to wet myself that I could probably go ahead and excuse myself. Haha.

  6. Oh what a great parfait!! Go Starbies!! I go to California Polytechnic University San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly in SLO for short 😉 ). And oh man I couldn’t think up an embarassing story right now. Hmmm. Might have to take a raincheck!

  7. so glad to hear you like starbucks yogurt parfaits–i was thinking of getting one but i wasn’t sure if id like it! haha. i did my undergrad at Tulane University in New Orleans–my embarrassing story would probably be realizing 30 minutes into a huge lecture hall that i was in the wrong class and having to get up to leave and explain myself to 200+ students :)-

    have a great day girl!

  8. I am at the U of MN now – I did my first year here, transferred to school out in Boston, and now I’m back! I missssed Minneapolis!

    Embarrassing story from grade school: haha not really embarrassing, but funny. I got “detention” and a warning slip as a 3rd grader for pulling a chair out from someone right as they were about to sit down! the little bada$$ 🙂

  9. I”m at Wayne State University! Good school, but being back at school stresses me out! Bah. lol

    I Had no clue that starbies had a greek yogurt parfait. it looks amazing, great snack idea! yummm

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

