Weekend of Indulgence

Happy Sunday evening. It feels nice knowing that tomorrow I don’t have to go to work. Although, I do have to go back to Minnesota :(.

This weekend is a weekend of indulgence- if you couldn’t tell… I am not being the best blogger, but most of the food that I am putting in my body is *for the most part*, healthy!

This afternoon was 100% dedicated to the pool. We had a lot of fun :). We had hand stand contests (yes, we are 8), played volleyball, tipped each others rafts over… the whole shebang.

Mike and my mom playing some volley.

mike and mom

My mom lost by two, but she was quite the sport!

And Lizzy the lizard stopped by to say hello.

lizzy

After a few hours of fun and games, the three of us youngin’s helped my mom with a few outdoor chores. We definitely worked up an appetite, so I put together a tray with some cheese, crackers/chips, turkey and ham. Yummy!

snack

For our last night here, we had a wonderful dinner with steak, my favorite pasta salad, bread and wine.

The wine was another from Tobin James, called Fat Boy. It was so smooth and so flavorful. Great pick mama!

tobin james fat boy

bottle

We each had about two two-and-a-half glasses. Don’t judge, it was fabulous wine, and worth every sip!

Dinner was just as great.

dinner

I had this, plus a little bit more pasta salad. In the pasta salad was:

-Broccoli
-Black Olives
-Green onion
-Yellow, orange and red bell pepper
-Cucumber
-Tomato
-Feta cheese
-A sweet vinaigrette

My mom is the best cook ever, I swear. We are now sitting out by the pool still and are contemplating dessert. Probably more angel food. Muwhaha.

We are going to settle in and watch I love you Man soon too. I have seen this movie before, and I love it!

Tomorrow our flight leaves at 6, so we have a good chunk of the day to spend with my mamasita and brhoa. What are you plans for Labor Day?

7 responses to “Weekend of Indulgence

  1. aw i love the fun filled time your having. When i saw your pic of the lizard and what you called it i laughed because people call me that as a nick name sometimes. tehhehe

    i hope you enjoy tomorrow’s time with your mom and brother before you have to leave 🙂

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  2. POOL day! Love it 🙂 It’s a place where you can be 8 yrs. old and it’s just fine! Have a safe trip back.

  3. Looks like fun! Weekends go so fast 😦 Glad you got to spend time with your family!

    No plans for Labor Day- it’s not celebrated in the UK. Lame! Lol.

  4. I’m lovin’ the movie choice! Hope you have a wonderful labor day w/ your fam before you fly home 🙂 We are goin to be recovering from the festivities yesterday (not a healthwise day for this girl either!) and I’m doing some grocery shopping and hope to meet up w/ shredmaster J.M. ha! Have a great day off and hope your flight home goes smoothly!!

  5. looks like you’re having a great labor day weekend so far! i’m going to have to try that Fat Boy wine 🙂 i just got home from newport, RI for my cousins wedding and am now just spending Monday relaxing!

    • Hey dear! I’m going to search for the Fat Boy too. My mom said it is on the pricey side, so it is more for a special occassion, but it is dang good!

  6. That pasta salad looks great! Home cooked meals are so good!

    I don’t have any big plans for the day. Just being lazy!

    I’ve been indulging this weekend too, I think most of the blog-world has, haha.

Leave a Reply

