Stellar eats!

Evening my lovelies!

Today was a day filled with nothing but delicious eats. There is not one thing that went in my mouth that was just ‘meh’. Everything was more like ‘wow, I hit the jackpot!’.

To start, I know I said that Mike was going to give his review of the breakfast cookie this evening. However, we were a little slow when it came to dinner and packing for Texas tomorrow, and now Mike has to leave to jam. Mike is a drummer (he was on the University of Minnesota’s drum line- go Gophers!), and coincidentally he now plays with one of my friends from high school, one of my brothers friends from high school and one of his fraternity brothers. He promises his review will be soon though :).

Lunch at Hell’s Kitchen was fantastic. I had been there once before, and I had gotten this:

Ham and Pear Crisp – (Featured in Jane and Michael Stern’s Road Food Sandwiches bookas one of the best sandwiches in America.) Shaved, slow-roasted smoked pit ham, poached pears,
melted Swiss and Fontina cheese on spicy-sweet buttered grilled sourdough bread.

I’m not a big ham person, but I got it due to the fact that it claimed to be ‘one of the best sandwiches in America’. Hmmm, I wouldn’t give it that great of praise. It was ok, but it wasn’t anything special. The cheese was way overbearing, and if the menu didn’t mention there were pears, I wouldn’t have been able to taste them. Kind of strange.

Today, I was GOING to get the veggie panini. However, once people started commenting on the Jamaican Jerk burger, I started to reconsider. Also, after reading that Bison meat is even leaner than chicken, I was sold!

From the menu: Hell’s Kitchen half-pound burgers are charbroiled lean bison chuck, which just happens to be 30% leaner than skinless chicken.

Also interesting… We are fiercely loyal to The Silver Bison Ranch with 400 healthy Bison. Proprietors Loren and Marilyn Semester personally tend to the breathtaking open-range herd, which is never exposed to feedlot, pesticides, or herbicides. If you’re in the Baldwin, Wisconsin area, visit their shop featuring beautiful handmade items by Native Americans.

Pretty neat huh? Here is the menu description:

Jamaican Jerk Burger – A hot & sweet charbroiled bison burger rubbed with spicy Jamaican jerk seasonings, then topped with grilled golden pineapple and habanero Pepperjack cheese. Includes your choice of French fries, sweet potato fries, coleslaw or fruit.

Of course I got sweet potato fries with it :). They rank second in terms of the best sweet potato fries I’ve ever had. The best are at a restaurant by my mom’s house in Texas- Trulucks!

The burger was very moist and but not greasy in the slightest. The pineapple was grilled to the perfect amount of sweetness. And the bun was a wild rice bun. Perfect, and semi healthy?? 😉

I almost fell victim to something I talked about last week– getting what you don’t want and eating more later vs. getting what you want and stopping when you are content. More on that in a different post!

This afternoon, my fab co-worker brought me a chocolate vitamuffin since I loved the vitatop so much yesterday. I warmed it in the microwave for 30 seconds, look at those melty chocolate chips. Holy yum!

001

This put me WAY over the top on being stuffed. For dinner, I wasn’t very hungry and my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach. I had a fabulous wrap that I ate all of, a salad that I had about 1/3 of and all of the fruit shown.

For the wrap, I sauteed tofu tossed with parmesan cheese, honey and bbq sauce. I then added the random veggies I had on hand- broccoli, bell pepper and tomato. I added a bit of pureed squash to my wrap as a base, wrapped it all up, and it was delicious!

002

Fruit

003

009

Salad

005

Allll together now

011

Dessert TBD! Sorry for the long post again, I just have so much to say, yikes! Tomorrow is SCONE FRIDAY! I’m not sure when I will be able to post tomorrow. Hopefully in the morning, but if not, it may not be until tomorrow night when I am home sweet home!

What are your plans for Labor Day weekend?

8 responses to “Stellar eats!

  1. Hey girl, way to be adventurous at lunch today! I’ve never had bison, only buffalo, however I think they are similar? We are laying low for the holiday weekend — cruisin’ adventure tired us out! Family & pool time on the agenda… relaxation whoop whoop!

  2. ah! I hope you have a WONDERFUL trip. How good does that chocolate vita look? mm melty delicious. Great dinner plate too- hooray for fruit. Safe travels 😉

  3. girl you really know how to make my mouth water. these eats are stellar. I just got a bunch of vita’s to try out so i’m so pumped! i’ll let ya know what i think! 🙂

    nighty love!

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Is he still at the U of M and on the drum team, that would be awesome to perform in the new stadium. My brother is a sophmore there and he got football tickets!
    Chocolate vita tops = amazing!

  5. Yay! I never knew that about bison until I asked another blogger…sounds delicious! LOVE the look of that Vita muffin…those things rock 🙂

    Enjoy your trip!

  6. Looks like a GREAT eating day! I love when everything just tastes good, it makes the day a little extra special!! I tend to eat a lot of the same foods so it gets boring and after a while I feel like- oh not this again!

  7. I’ve been dreaming about that ham and pear sandwich since I saw it on the menu you posted yesterday!

    I am actually going to try to make it over the weekend.

    I’ve never had bison, but have heard that it is extremely lean – did it taste gamey at all to you or did it taste like a regular burger? Just curious!

    I have today off too – so I have a four day weekend! No plans though, which I love — lots of laundry to do though! 😦

    Happy Friday!

  8. Your wrap looks great! Scone Friday sound fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

