Part of the routine

‘Part of the routine’ is what I need to make the random happy hour evenings. I think it is only healthy to let loose once in awhile. To sit back and enjoy a drink (or two) isn’t such a bad thing :). More on this later…

So, as I stated in my morning post, one of my co-workers brough me a Vitatop to try. I was thrilled because I have seen these around, but haven’t wanted to spend the dough not knowing if I liked them or not. The flavor I tried was ‘CranBran’. Verdict? I LOVED it. I am now obsessed. So much so, that I ordered two dozen… eeep :(. However, they were on sale. Check out this link if you are a fan.

I was a little hesitant when seeing them in the store since they are only 100 calories. I thought they would be TINY and carboardy. My review:

-Size wise, they were very generous for only having 100 calories.
-They weren’t very moist (sorry, I hate the word too, but no other choice), but they weren’t dry. I didn’t mind their texture.
-The flavor was right on with the CranBran name. It didn’t taste fake or processed in my mind. It tasted very healthy. The ‘cran’ and the ‘bran’ definitely came through.
-Amazing nutritionals. I won’t list them all here, but here is the link to check out.
-Add on a little peanut/almond butter like I did, and you have a winner!

001

003

Have you tried any of the Vitalicious lines? What are your thoughts?

I tried two more new products today. But those reviews will be spread out over the next few days šŸ˜‰

Mike and I were talking last night and our conversation lead to the fact that ‘Damn, we are 23 and 24, we need to be more spontaneous’. So tonight, we went to happy hour, just the two of us, and had some fun. Now, happy hour isn’t a completely rare thing, we probably go once every other week. But we are usually with friends or co-workers, never just the two of us. So we went on a middle of the week date :). One of these weeks, per Mike’s request, we will be going ‘all out’ on a Wednesday night and heading to the Shout House, one of Mike’s favorite spots from our college years. Apparently I need to live a little (bit more), and I completely agree, my love!

Tonight, we went to the 508 Bar in downtown Minneapolis. They had pretty good happy hour specials, which is why we headed here. It was nothing special, but we had a great view and great company.

006

To start, I got a 312 Urban Wheat beer. The first time I had this was in Chicago this summer, and ever since, I have been searching high and low for it here in Minneapolis. I love this beer, it is out of one of my favorite cities, Chi-town! I went to DePaul for my first semester of college and left part of my heart there. Artistic shot:

010

It is a very light and fruity beer, very refreshing, but yet, has so much depth. I am not a beer connoisseur by any means, so I will leave the link above to share the explanation of the beer for ya!

Mike got a Dark Horse Raspberry Ale to start. This was very delicious as well! Aww, I love him so much!

009

Before we left for happy hour, I had a bowl of fruit from last nights fruit salad. Once we got to the restaurant, the only appetizer we could agree on was the Queso Fundido. Basically, chips, guac, salsa and queso.

015

017

018

I probably had about 1/3 of this? It was just meh. The queso was delish, as was the salsa. But the guac was NASTY. Totally fake. Mike and I decided our favorite chip color was the ‘blue’. We are nerds…

For our second drink, Mike got Lagunitas Lil Sumpin Sumpin. Very good, kind of reminded me of a Fat Tire, which I love. I was ‘lame’ according to Mike, and got a Michelob. Ugh, total college beer.

I wouldn’t go back here to EAT, but we did agree that the beer selection was pretty stellar. So this could be a regular place to hit up and get a good beer.

016

Once we got home, I whipped up breakfast for Mike and I. Gina, you’ll be proud of my boyfriend in the morning…

I also grabbed a huge spoonful of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream. Who can resist? I told ya guys, I ALWAYS need something sweet after a ‘meal’. If you would call chips and dip a meal šŸ™‚ Thehe. I will definitely be having a snack later though. Even though I had enough ’empty calories’ tonight to go way beyond a normal meal, they weren’t filled with any staying power. At least I had fun though!

025

Oh, by the way. Saw one of the greatest things EVER in my life while at our table outside tonight…

014

Yup, you read that right. A Pedal Pub. They pedal like they are on a bike and drink. Umm, where can I sign up??

WOW, mando post guys. Sorry about that, but I hope you enjoyed it šŸ™‚ Be looking out for two more product reviews in the days to come!

What is your favorite restaurant? What is the best dish you have ever had at a restaurant?

13 responses to “Part of the routine

  1. FAVORITE restaurant = Pure Food & Wine in NYC.

  2. oh those vitatops — they are dangerous! I eat at least one (or two) on a good day šŸ™‚ what flavs. did you order? please tell me chocolate!

    • You are going to be disappointed šŸ˜¦ I didn’t get chocolate this time. But next time that will for SURE be on my order!

  3. o girl, vitatops are comin my way so so soon and i’m so pumped knowing that you loved them too!!! i’ve never had one, so i’ll be sure to tell ya how i like em!!!!!

    you and mike are so adore! just love the two of you! I admire your spontaneity, i feel i should be more myself sometimes! Good idea!!!:)

    nighty night love muff! šŸ™‚

    http://saladdiva.wordpress.com

  4. Awww looks like you two had an awesome time – great idea to break up the work week w/ some fun date nights, love it! šŸ™‚
    Best dish EVA: Teala’s in Houston, TX – Chile Relleno (fresh poblano pepper stuffed with roasted chicken and mexican cheese, topped with their spicy cascabel chili sauce) — the sauce was out of this world, everything about it was incredible!

  5. I was just commenting to my bf that we haven’t been to 508 in a while…there was one app that I kind of liked there, but I can’t remember which one now….I love the random “date” happy hours! Especially the spontaneous ones! Have a good night!

  6. A pedal pub sounds like a blast! lol

  7. Yup I’ve tried a few – wasn’t a fan of the chocolate PB one, but I had the banana nut one today and it was fabulous! Very banana-y. Can’t wait to try the cran bran one now!

    Hmm I don’t really have a fave restaurant, but I do love PF Changs and a local BBQ joint! I ALWAYS need something to “finish off” the meal – one single bite of ice cream is pretty routine for me šŸ˜‰

  8. vitatops totally rock! Love them šŸ™‚ I haven’t been able to find them since we moved though=blah! Glad you guys went out and had fun last night! Its so easy to get stuck in the usual routine!!

  9. Sounds like a great date! Just wish they could have rocked that quac for you.

    Pedal Pub?? Is that legal, haha. Sounds awesome!

  10. If you haven’t ever been to the Tin Fish (Lake Calhoun).. you should come. Now. I waitress there… it’s fantastic food.. AND we have Fat Tire!

Leave a Reply

