Experiment gone RIGHT!

“Holy f, it doesn’t get any better than this”. This is a direct quote from Mike in regards to my baked creation that I literally dreamt about last night. Now, Mike usually doesn’t like anything even ‘semi-healthy’ for the most part, so for him to state that about this creation, it MUST be good. However, you are going to have to wait until the end of this post to see what I concocted! 😉

My apple crisp bar (second half of breakie)
001

As stated in my morning post, lunch was catered at work today from a local restaurant called D.Brians. I got a turkey sandwich on wheat, with cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomato and light mayo. On the side was a bag of Baked Lays, an apple and a cookie. I swear this week is semi-abnormal. I feel like I have been having tons of baked goods, which I LOVE, but usually don’t have as many as I have had this week. You only live once though, right?

This afternoon I munched on a few handfuls of trail mix, and a few of these guys. (Spiced up the picture a bit, he he)
002

Super corny, but better than a boring beige desk if you ask me.

Immediately when I got home, I bolted into the kitchen, got out my KitchenAid, and started on my experiment. Due to eating loads of dough **hint hint** I wasn’t extremely hungry for dinner. I had a few bites of Mikes pasta and about half of this Asiago bread.

004
003

Followed by a light dinner of exactly what I was craving. A bagel and cream cheese with some honey pretzel twists. I wasn’t able to get to the Farmers Market today, I am in desperate need of some fresh produce, HELP!! 😦
005

DRUMROLL PLEASE!!!!!

May I present to you, Peanut Butter Banana Bliss Cake with a Peanut Butter Glaze. HOLY MOLY YUM!!!! Out.of.this.world!!!

These photos DO NOT do this guy justice.

The first photo is without glaze. At this point, we tried the cake without the glaze. The banana flavor came out strongest at first, but then you ended with a peanut butter taste.

006

You definitely do not need to add the glaze, but we both agreed it would be even BETTER with a final addition of a little bit more peanut butter taste coming through. So, I added the ‘glaze’ to a small portion to try (so I didn’t ruin this beauty if it was horrible move).

007

After this bite was Mike’s now famous comment! This is a must try!!!

Peanut Butter Banana Bliss Cake with a Peanut Butter Drizzle

1 cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter (or any type of nut butter)
1/2 half of a yogurt (plain or vanilla flavored)
1 ripe banana- mashed
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp baking soda

Mix well. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes in a 9×9 pan. Let cool.

Peanut Butter Glaze- Mix powdered sugar, milk and peanut butter to your consistency liking. Spread on top of cake. ENJOY!!!!!

What is your greatest kitchen success? Please share!

**I’ve also updated my ‘about me’ page. I’ve expanded it so that you can get to know a little bit more about me. Enjoy!

10 responses to “Experiment gone RIGHT!

  1. holy moly yum is right!! making this the first chance I get, thanks for the awesome recipe!

  2. That peanut butter bliss cake looks amazing. Found your blog through Tina’s. I’m from Minneapolis too, been here all my 24 years, but moving to Iowa next week! Look forward to more of your posts!

  3. that cake looks delish!

    my greatest success was making banana bread with a Blue Moon…it came out great!

  4. Peanut butter glaze? That sounds fabulous!! Glad it was a success : )

  5. Pingback: Dreary Friday « Foodie in the City

  6. This looks awesome girl! I mean, as if the PB and banana combo weren’t good enough alone, making that into cake — score! 🙂 (found a computer that actually has internet in the hotel lobby, so sad – internet addicted haha) Have a great weekend! 🙂

  7. YUM! That cake sounds deliciousss! PB is my faaavorite nut butter 😉

Leave a Reply

