Smorgasbord

Evening folks! How was your Tuesday? Mine was pretty good, I can’t complain!

In addition to my eats that I blogged about this morning, I also had a ‘cookie day’, a la Tina , a lemon cookie with a lemon frosting of sorts. It definitely was a dance party in my mouth- sorry, no photograph :(. I was still hungry later in the afternoon, so I had a Kashi granola bar- same as yesterdays.

If you can’t already tell, I am a total grazer. I would much rather have a bunch of mini meals as opposed to three large meals.

I kind of ruined my appetite for dinner by having so many snacks this afternoon, but knew I had to eat something. I opted for two pieces of french toast on high fiber bread with syrup, two egg whites and a strawberry banana yogurt. Num!

012

Mike had a chicken stir fry with veggies and sweet and sour sauce. I had quite a few bites of this bad boy as well, it was quite tasty.
016

I have some brownies in the oven that I am making for tomorrow night. Mike’s sister and brother-in-law are coming over for dinner and drinks. They smell a.m.a.z.i.n.g. I have a problem whenever I am around dough for any type of baked good, I can’t contain myself. I definitely licked the bowl and spatula clean!

I plan on waking up in the morning to get a run in, so later on tonight, I am thinking of having a banana and peanut butter toast. For some reason, whenever I have this combo the night before a run, the next morning I have loads and loads of energy. Look what kind of peanut butter I bought today. EKKK!! So excited!!!!

017

Have you tried any different type of nut butter or peanut butter flavor besides your basic peanut butter? If so, what is your favorite?

8 responses to “Smorgasbord

  1. Hey girl!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and it’s so nice to meet a new friendly face.

    I love nibbling throughout the day too. There is just too many lovely tastes in this world that I can’t keep myself limted to only a few each day. I figure a little of everything is the way to life.

    Take care and keep in touch!

  2. Mmmm! I love peanut butter! I really like the TJs valencia flax PB and I’m also a HUGE fan of almond butter! Since switching to natural nut butters I can’t stand the processed stuff any more – it tastes waxy or something…

  3. I don’t eat peanut butter, so my answer to that question is a resounding yes πŸ™‚

    I use almond butter, hazelnut butter, pumpkin seed butter, brazil nut butter, walnut butter, sunflower seed butter, pecan butter, AND pistachio butter. Yes, I have a stocked pantry, haha.

  4. Ummm dark choc / PB sounds like heaven in a jar haha… let us know how that one turns out! Also, brekkie for dinner can be so fun – good choice! Sometimes I make us french toast “stuffed” with LF cream cheese and sliced nanners – yum πŸ™‚ Have a good run tomorrow – I’ll be shreddin’ after work most likely (ahh bikini time on cruise way too soon haha)

    • foodieinthecity

      Elle: I agree with you. Every once in awhile, there is nothing better than a scoop of the processed stuff. But I am starting to like it less and less. I ran out of almond butter the other day at work (yes, I keep a jar in my desk drawer πŸ™‚ ), so I had to run to Target, and the best they had was Jif Natural. It wasn’t HORRIBLE, but my taste preference is definitely geared more towards the natural ALMOND butter!

      Veggie Girl: Whoaaa! I never even knew that there were so many different nut butters out there. I need to expand my horizons! Where do you get all of these wonderful spreads?? And which besides the almond butter is your favorite?

      Cookinfanatic: Ok, I must admit, the Dark Chocolate PB was OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!! However, I can’t see myself using it as a breakfast item. Mayyybe mixed in with some oats, but this is more of a dessert item. But since I love nut butter at all times of the day, multiple times a day, it is safe to say this jar will be eaten quickly!

      Explain to me more of this stuffed french toast. It sounds right up my alley! Do you just put the cream cheese and bananas in between two pieces and dip in the egg mixture?

      • I make the french toast first, dipping 2 slices of bread in egg/milk/cinnamon/vanilla mixture and “frying” in cooking spray until close to done. Then I remove the toasties from the pan and spoon some dallops of cream cheese on one slice and top with sliced bananas. Then top w/ the other slice of toast and put back in the pan to heat through so the cream cheese melts a bit and it all gets warm and melds together. Serve w/ syrup. It’s like my boyfriend’s fave breakfast ever and I love it too!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think that PB would be great for dessert, I agree that it may be a bit much for brekkie (maybe only on a special occasion perhaps?)

  5. Pingback: CookinFanatic

  6. Pingback: Oh Cooking Light, I love thee so! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

