Today is a Special Day

First off, I would like to thank all of the servicemen and woman who serve and have served our country. I would like to thank you all from the bottom of my heart, you are all amazing people.

Today is even more special to me because it is my mama’s birthday!!

IMG_893

Now, you already know how amazing she is in taking Petrie in until Mike and my lease is up.

But words cannot even express how incredible she is as a mom, sister, friend, career woman, and the list goes on and on. Most importantly though, she has raised my brother and I to be the strong and successful individuals that we are today. She would do anything for us in the world, but she also taught us tough love.

As any family has, we’ve had our bumps in the road, but my mom has kept the three of us a tight-knit family through thick and thin. She is my best friend in the whole wide world and she deserves a long life of happiness for years to come. Happy birthday mama, I love you!

Moving on to today…

I got 8.5 hours of sleep last night and practically sprung out of bed this morning.  It think a good nights sleep was exactly what I needed to not feel sickly and run down.  Since I am obviously feeling better and have loads of energy, back to the gym routine it was for me.   7.2 miles in 67 minutes.  Whoohoo!

For breakfast this morning, I dug into the freezer for inspiration last night.  Guys, I love the freezer, and the freezer loves me.

Whenever we have leftovers that I won’t eat before they go bad, bread products, fruit, meats, etc., they all go in the freezer for future eating. 

Now I obviously didn’t find my Barney Butter in the freezer, but is the star of my breakfast.  How could Barney Butter not be the star of any meal that it is included in? 

BarneyButter1

But what I did dig up out of the freezer is a pumpkin bagel!

002

I love buying ‘last nights bagels’ from the local bagel shops such as Brueggers and Panera. However, they don’t have the added preservatives, so they go bad much, much quicker than store-bought bagels. So into the freezer of love they head for purposes like today.

004

So yes, I am having a bagel + Barney Butter for breakfast. And a banana to have with breakfast or as a mid-morning snack.

005

Lunch today will be bought. :) Reasoning? Because my company has today off, but I am working. So if I am working, you best bet I will be treating myself to something good! (No worries, I get an extra vacation day for working today).

While I am out for lunch, I will also be sending Petrie, as well as one of my favorite bloggers and best bloggie friend, packages today. :mrgreen:

Does your work/school have today off? If so, what are you doing to enjoy your day off?

10 responses to “Today is a Special Day

  1. nope! i still got school. my college never ever gives us anyyyy days off! hah.
    jenna

  2. Happy bday to foodie mom!! Sounds like she is a pretty amazing lady :) You def deserve to treat yourself to lunch out today – whoop whoop! If it makes you feel any better, I am spending my day with Hurricane Ida that has made its way up the coast — torrential downpours, flash flooding & 25 mph winds … grrr hahaha Have a great day girlie!

  3. HAPPY B-DAY FOODIE MOM!!!!

    i love buying last nights bagels and freezing them – you can’t even tell they are old when you toast them. and i still haven’t tried barney butter…what kind of bloggy am i? ;)

  4. Unfortunately, I do NOT have the day off from work today, but it seems like everyone else does! If I did have the day off, I would be outside running ;-)

  5. aw cute! and no i don’t have the day off :( but it is so nice out so i think i might enjoy a short, nice run!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  6. I am working today but would much rather be lounging on the couch during this rainy, rainy day! So jealous of everyone that has off :)

  7. Happy Birthday to your Mom! :D

    That bagel brekkie sounds yum!

  8. that’s your mom? oh goodness she is gorgeous! I hope I look that good when i’m… 25. Sheesh! You’ve got food genes, girl ;) Happy birthday to yo’ mama!

  9. Pingback: In case you missed it… « Foodie in the City

Leave a Reply

